THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Complete 1960 Nat Hentoff Sessions

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Complete 1960 Nat Hentoff Sessions
Complete 1960 Nat Hentoff Sessions


3CD set, digitally remastered, deluxe digipak with 24-page booklet +2 bonus tracks.

In 1960, celebrated jazz critic Nat Hentoff called Charles Mingus to record several sessions for the new Candid label on which Mingus was given absolute freedom. All the music from these sessions is on this set. Taped during the apex of Mingus' creativity, they showcase such stars as Eric Dolphy, Roy Eldridge, Booker Ervin, Jimmy Knepper, Charles McPherson, Paul Bley, Tommy Flanagan, Jo Jones, and Dannie Richmond.

A session featuring Booker Little, Benny Bailey, Eric Dolphy, and Max Roach (but not Mingus), has been added here as a bonus.

"Mingus is a musician of unquestionable power. He again demonstrates that he can do just about anything with his instrument. He and Richmond react beautifully together throughout and the interaction of the whole group is one of the salient features of the album. Recommended as an important document of the current scene." - Ira Gitler, DownBeat


  1. Name
  2. Folk Forms No.1
  3. Original Faubus Fables
  4. What Love
  5. All The Things You Could Be By Now If Sigmund Freuds Wife Was Your Mother
  6. Stormy Weather
  7. Melody From The Drums
  8. Reincarnation Of A Lovebird No.1
  9. Vasserlean
  10. Mdm [monk, Duke & Mingus]
  11. Bugs
  12. Reincarnation Of A Lovebird No.2
  13. Lock 'em Up
  14. Cliff Walk
  15. T'ain't Nobody's Bizness If I Do
  16. Mysterious Blues
  17. Body And Soul
  18. Body And Soul [alternate Take]
  19. R & R
  20. Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams
  21. Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams [alternate Take]
  22. Me And You
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite