THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Richard Strauss: Ein Heldenleben | Intermezzo: Four Symphonic Interludes

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Richard Strauss: Ein Heldenleben | Intermezzo: Four Symphonic Interludes
Richard Strauss: Ein Heldenleben | Intermezzo: Four Symphonic Interludes


The Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, under their Chief Conductor Sir Andrew Davis, presents the second volume in their live series of Richard Strauss' orchestral works. The inspiration for Ein Heldenleben (A Hero's Life) - completed at the turn of the twentieth century - was one of the most groundbreaking works ever written: Beethoven's Eroica Symphony. Largely agreed to be autobiographical - despite Strauss' protestations to the contrary - it depicts various aspects of what Strauss called an 'ideal of great and manly heroism'. Musically, it was the most ambitious work Strauss had written to date, and features a large orchestra and virtuosic violin solo, played here by the MSO's concertmaster Dale Barltrop. On this album, Ein Heldenleben is prefaced by the Four Symphonic Interludes from Intermezzo, Strauss' opera based around incidents in the life of himself and his wife.


  1. Name
  2. Intermezzo, Op. 72: Four Symphonic Interludes: . Reisefieber Und Walzerszene (Travel Fever And Waltz Scene)
  3. II. Träumerei Am Kamin (Dreaming By The Fireside)
  4. III. Am Spieltisch (At The Card Table)
  5. IV. Fröhlicher Beschluss (Happy Ending)
  6. Ein Heldenleben (A Heros Life), Op. 40 : I. Der Held (The Hero)
  7. II. Des Helden Widersacher (The Heros Enemies)
  8. III. Des Helden Gefährtin (The Heros Companion)
  9. IV. Des Helden Walstatt (The Heros Deeds Of War)
  10. V. Des Helden Friedenswerke (The Heros Works Of Peace)
  11. VI. Des Helden Weltflucht Und Vollendung (The Heros Retirement From The World)
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide