THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

The Boston Record

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
The Boston Record
The Boston Record


During the summer of 2013, guitar legend John McLaughlin and his trailblazing band The 4th Dimension - Gary Husband on keyboards and drums, Etienne Mbappe on bass, and Ranjit Barot on drums and vocals - played a rare tour across America. On June 22nd they performed at the Berklee College of Music in Boston. This extraordinary concert was recorded and is now being released as 'The Boston Record'.

John McLaughlin, who rose to fame in the 1970s as a prominent member of the jazz fusion ensemble the Mahavishnu Orchestra, has achieved something of a mythic status in music history. Jeff Beck of the Yardbirds has considered McLaughlin "the best guitarist alive", due to his unconventional, revolutionary method of playing and the starkly original music he has produced for decades.

McLaughlin is particularly proud of 'The Boston Record', as he said in the press release announcing the album: "From time to time, a live record is made that has everything: great collective playing, a terrific audience, fantastic recorded sound, and a wonderful atmosphere. In the new recording of our concert you'll find all of the above. I'm really happy about this recording".

This fiery performance features music from John's recent studio albums 'Now Here This' and 'To the One', not to mention a new take on the classic Mahavishnu Orchestra piece, "You Know, You Know", originally part of The Inner Mounting Flame album from 1971.


  1. Name
  2. Raju
  3. Little Miss Valley
  4. Abbaji
  5. Echos from Then
  6. Senor C.S.
  7. Call & Answer
  8. Maharina
  9. Hijacked
  10. You Know You Know
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide