THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Momentum: Nordic Cello Concertos

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Momentum: Nordic Cello Concertos
Momentum: Nordic Cello Concertos


'Momentum: Nordic Cello Concertos' presents outstanding Danish instrumentalist Jakob Kullberg performing the solo part in three major contemporary works for cello and orchestra - by Per Nørgard, Arne Nordheim, and Kaija Saariaho. The release, on which Kulberg is accompanied by Poland's New Music Orchestra conducted by Szymon Bywalec, also marks the 80th birthday of composer Per Nørgard.

Jakob Kullberg and leading Danish composer Per Nørgard began their collaboration 15 years ago and it has developed every year since, resulting in several works from Nørgard written especially for the cellist. One of these is the piece which gives this album its title, the Cello Concerto No. 2, 'Momentum'.

Written for and premiered by Mstislav Rostropovich, the late Arne Nordheim's cello concerto, 'Tenebrae', is perhaps best known through its recording by Truls Mørk. On this CD Kullberg performs a new orchestration of the work for a smaller sinfonietta ensemble. The title denotes darkness and night - designating the Roman Catholic service of the same name. The cello also holds a prominent place in the works of renowned Finnish composer Kaija Saariaho. The title of her concerto is 'Amers' which means "sea marks" or "bouys".

"Jakob Kullberg has an amazing control of line, and is always bang in tune even in the most finger-twisting passages." - Ivan Hewett, Daily Telegraph

Personnel: Jakob Kullberg (cello), New Music Orchestra, Szymon Bywalec (conductor)


  1. Name
  2. Per Nørgard: Momentum - Cello Concerto No. 2, I. Monologue
  3. II. Together
  4. III. Multiplicity
  5. IV. Infinity
  6. Arne Nordheim: Tenebrae - Concerto for Cello and Chamber Orchestra
  7. Kaija Saariaho: Amers - Cello Concerto No. 1, Part I. Libero, dolce, misterioso
  8. Part II. Sempre molto energico, ma espressivo
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide