THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CDs | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Jazz To Funk

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)
Catalog Number:
Jazz To Funk
Jazz To Funk


This is a genuine curio from Herbie Hancock's late '60s period. CD1 was originally released by Albert 'Tootie' Heath as an album called 'Kawaida' in 1969. It's an octet album led by drummer Heath and featuring Don Cherry (trumpet), Billy Bonner (flute) and Jimmy Heath on sax as well as Herbie. Although Heath was a big name drummer, having played with many of the giants of jazz, it seems to have not made much of a mark and was subsequently re-issued under Herbie's name as 'Baraka'. Hancock is certainly a major feature of the album and it's easy to see how the credit can be shifted. Whoever gets the credit it certainly fits Hncock's move into the fusion territory pioneered by Miles Davies. CD2 features a number of out-takes from the Blowout soundtrack sessions. These tracks feature another all star cast tha includes Jack DeJohnette, Freddie Hubbard and Joe henderson. It's also possible that the last three tracks are from the original British recording sessions for the soundtrack that Hancock ditched.


  1. Name
  2. Maulana
  3. Baraka/Kamli
  4. Kawanda
  5. Dunia
  6. Not Listed
  7. Witch Fire
  8. Jammin' With Herbie
  9. Herbie's Blues
  10. Rock Your Soul
  11. Hot Piano
  12. Smoochie
  13. Live And Awake
  14. Night Walker
  15. Afro Boogie
  16. Far Out
  17. Hot And Heavy
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

Search engine powered by ElasticSuite