THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

In The Zone

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
In The Zone
In The Zone


One of the biggest smooth jazz stars, saxophonist Richard Elliot invites loyal fans and newcomers alike to celebrate 25 years since the release of his debut album 'Initial Approach'. 'In the Zone', is a grooving, funked up, horn splashed collection that finds the energized-as-ever tenor saxophonist paying homage to the pioneering instrumental artists of his formative years ('70s-early '80s) whose brilliance and musical innovations inspired him. Drawing on the influences of legends like Grover Washington, Jr., Bob James and David Sanborn, Elliot fashions the perfect contemporary jazz complement to 'Rock Steady', his 2009 recording that was inspired by the great R&B artists he grew up listening to; that collection debuted at #5 on the Billboard Jazz Album chart and remained on the list for over 40 weeks. 'In the Zone' includes a simmering, hypnotic retro-soul cover of "Inner City Blues (Makes Me Wanna Holler)", a Marvin Gaye staple whose original instrumental version marked Washington's first session as a leader. Beyond that, the collection is driven by nine powerful retro-flavoured original songs penned by Elliot and co-producer Jeff Lorber.


  1. Name
  2. Island Style
  3. Boom Town
  4. Metropolis
  5. Inner City Blues/Makes Me Want To Holler
  6. The Lower Road
  7. Bring It!
  8. Just A Taste
  9. In The Zone
  10. Panamera
  11. Golden Triangle
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock