THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Don't Mess With Mrs Murphy

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Don't Mess With Mrs Murphy
Don't Mess With Mrs Murphy


'Don't Mess With Mrs Murphy' is the new solo album from Heather Lynne Horton. You may already know Heather as Singer, Songwriter, Fiddle player and one half of The Westies (the other half of which is her husband Michael McDermott). The Westies, received vast, critical acclaim while the urgency for Horton to get back to her own roots, remained impending after putting her career on hold upon the birth of their child, Rain in 2010. This record signifies Horton's own re-birth and speaks for all women toiling and wrestling with the struggles attached to their multitude of roles, including guilt, denial and depression, in the midst of their own pursuit of happiness. Horton has said that this record not only defines her, but screams out the layers of sadness, fear and euphoria she and the majority of women have 'placed on back burners and crammed into closets'; all the while believing this place in all of time, to be the most important time for aggressive, unrelenting expression. Horton re-enlisted sonic collaborator, Lex Price, to produce, engineer and mix the collection of 11 songs (including a hidden bonus) at The Collard Green and Resistor studios in Nashville, TN. Early praise for 'Don't Mess With Mrs Murphy': 'Creating music has always been instinctive for Horton. The Hawaiian born, Midwestern adopted and raised, self-taught multi-instrumentalist began performing music by the young age of four and was heavily inspired by the cultures that surrounded her. In no time, Horton was music-obsessed and began working on creating music that would appeal visually, lyrically, and musically to all demographics. Now, Horton is prepared to share her stories of struggles and triumphs through her newest release, Don't Mess With Mrs. Murphy, which is the perfect introduction for new fans of the folk rock artist.' - Paste 'I was fortunate enough to have lived in Chicago in the early 90's, when acts like Smashing Pumpkins and Liz Phair were putting sonic variety and higher production values on the grunge assault coming out of Seattle. When I first listened to the latest album from Chicago native Heather Horton, Don't Mess With Mrs. Murphy, it was like I picked back up on that excitement from 25 years ago.' - Twangville


  1. Name
  2. Murphy's Law
  3. Wheelchair Man
  4. Did You Feel That?
  5. Save The Rain
  6. Boomerang
  7. Flesh and Blood
  8. F.U.
  9. Coffee Cup
  10. Pauper Sky
  11. I Wanna Die In My Sleep
  12. You're The One That I Want
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock