THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Shostakovich: String Quartet No. 3; Beethoven: String Quartet Op. 59, No. 2

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Shostakovich: String Quartet No. 3; Beethoven: String Quartet Op. 59, No. 2
Shostakovich: String Quartet No. 3; Beethoven: String Quartet Op. 59, No. 2


The Zurich-based Valentin Berlinsky Quartet, named in honour of the legendary founding cellist of the Borodin Quartet, continues its series on Avie pairing the works of Beethoven and Shostakovich.

The Valentin Berlinsky Quartet made an auspicious recording debut last year with highly acclaimed readings of Shostakovich's String Quartets Nos. 7 and 8, and Beethoven's first Razumovsky. Augmenting an already impressive pedigree - Yo-Yo Ma praised their "pure music making," while David Zinman hailed "a quartet that has a bright future" - this Zurich-based foursome continues their series on Avie pairing the two composers.

The Valentin Berlinsky Quartet chose its name to honour the legendary founding cellist of the Borodin Quartet, receiving the blessing for their attribution from the cellist's daughter, pianist Ludmila Berlinskaia with whom the Quartet frequently performs. Beethoven and Shostakovich were composers who dominated the quartet genre during their respective eras and whose strong musical contrasts and rapidly changing mood swings complement each other superbly.

The award-winning members of the Valentin Berlinsky Quartet are four of the finest musicians working in Switzerland today, principal players in the Zurich Opera and Tonhalle Orchestras. As chamber musicians they have worked with such artists as Martha Argerich, Julia Fischer and Radu Lupu. In addition to performances throughout Europe and China, the Quartet has reached audiences further afield through their numerous YouTube videos, including their recording of Beethoven's Second Razumovsky Quartet.

Personnel: Bartek Niziol, Wang Xiaoming (violin), David Greenlees (viola), Alexander Neustroev (cello)

Critical acclaim for the Valentin Berlinsky Quartet's earlier Beethoven and Shostakovich album on Avie:

"Warmth, blend and polish...Recommended." - Gramophone

"Astonishing...playing that combines technical perfection with exceptional maturity and musical insight." - BBC Music Magazine

"Probing, impassioned playing that leaves no emotional stone unturned, complemented by a lucidly natural recording." - The Strad


  1. Name
  2. Dmitri Shostakovich: String Quartet No. 3 in F, Op.73, I. Allegretto
  3. II. Moderato con moto
  4. III. Allegro non troppo
  5. IV. Adagio
  6. V. Moderato
  7. Ludwig van Beethoven: String Quartet Op. 59, No. 2 in E minor 'Rasumovsky'I. Allegro
  8. II. Molto adagio
  9. III. Allegretto
  10. IV. Finale: Presto
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock