THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Dvorak: Cypresses for String Quartet, String Quartet No. 13

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Dvorak: Cypresses for String Quartet, String Quartet No. 13
Dvorak: Cypresses for String Quartet, String Quartet No. 13


San Francisco-based Cypress String Quartet debut on Avie with its namesake work, Dvorak's Cypresses, coupled with the composer's expansive G major Quartet, No. 13.

The San Francisco-based Cypress String Quartet, known equally for its innovation and its elegant performances, debuts on Avie with a recording of its namesake work, Dvorak's Cypresses, a set of twelve love songs scored for string quartet, coupled with the composer's expansive G major Quartet, No. 13. Known internationally through touring and a dozen acclaimed recordings, the Cypress String Quartet traverses repertoire from J.S. Bach - the composer with which the foursome forged their signature, clear and transparent sound - to world-premieres of works they have commissioned from such composers as Jennifer Higdon, Kevin Puts and Elena Ruehr.

In addition to appearances in such renowned venues as the Kennedy Center, the Ravinia Festival and Cal Performances, the Quartet reaches out to new audiences through regular performances in community centres, unorthodox spaces, and schools. The Cypress String Quartet's Avie debut, the first in a projected series of recordings, will support the release with a tour featuring Dvorak's Cypresses, numerous broadcasts and a dynamic online and social media presence.

Personnel: Cecily Ward, Tom Stone (violin), Ethan Filner (viola), Jennifer Kloetzel (cello)

Critical acclaim for the Cypress String Quartet:

"Artistry of uncommon insight and cohesion." - Gramophone

"Beautifully proportioned and powerful." - The Washington Post

"Such rare sincerity as to make long-familiar music sound utterly fresh." - Cleveland Plain Dealer


  1. Name
  2. Cyprie [Cypresses], B152, No. 1 Já vím, e v sladké nadeji [I know that on my love]: Moderato
  3. No. 2 V tak mnohém srdci mrtvo jest [Death reigns]: Allegro ma non troppo
  4. No. 3 V té sladké moci ocí tvých [When thy sweet glances]: Andante con moto
  5. No. 4 Ó, naí lásce nekvete to vytouené testí [Never will Love lead us]: Poco adagio
  6. No. 5 Zde hledím na tvuj drahý list [The Old Letter]: Andante
  7. No. 6 Ó, zlatá rue spanilá [You are my glorious rose]: Andante moderato
  8. No. 7 Kol domu se ted' potácím [I wander oft past yonder house]: Andante con moto
  9. No. 8 Zde v lese u potoka [In deepest forest glade]: Lento
  10. No. 9 Ó due drahá jedinká [Thou only dear one]: Moderato
  11. No. 10 Tam stojí stará skála [There stands an ancient crag]: Andante maestoso
  12. No. 11 Nad krajem vévodí lehký spánek [Nature lies peaceful]: Allegro scherzando
  13. No. 12 Ty se ptá, proc moje zpevy bourí [You ask why my songs]: Allegro animato
  14. String Quartet No. 13 in G, Op. 106, B192, I. Allegro moderato
  15. II. Adagio ma non troppo
  16. III. Molto vivace
  17. IV. Andante sostenuto - Allegro con fuoco
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide