THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Monteverdi: L'Orfeo

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)
Catalog Number:
Monteverdi: L'Orfeo
Monteverdi: L'Orfeo


Celebrating their 40th anniversary, Andrew Parrott and his Taverner Consort & Players offer a magnificent recording of the world's first operatic masterpiece, Monteverdi's L'Orfeo. Befitting such an outstanding recording, the 2-CD set is luxuriously packaged with extensive notes and the complete libretto with English translations in a 52-page booklet.

Andrew Parrott and the Taverner Consort & Players celebrate their 40th anniversary with a magnificent recording of the world's first operatic masterpiece, Monteverdi's L'Orfeo. As can be expected from Andrew Parrott, who has been at the centre of the early and baroque music scene for over four decades, his meticulous research results in a performance and stylistic approach that brings a fresh perspective to the myth of love lost and found through the art of music. His scholarship, combined with the collaborative nature of the Taverners, translates into a performance brought to life by the finest singers and instrumentalists in the early music world, including tenor Charles Daniels who is the superb Orfeo.

Personnel: Taverner Consort & Players, Andrew Parrott (conductor)

Critical acclaim for Andrew Parrott and the Taverner Players & Consort:

"The Taverner Consort & the vanguard of stimulating research-driven concepts interpreted with enthralling musicality." - Gramophone, Critic's Choice 2011

"Exceptional sensitivity and direction...beautifully performed." - BBC Music Magazine


  1. Name
  2. Toccata
  3. PROLOGO, Ritornello - Dal mio Permesso amato La Musica
  4. ATTO PRIMO, In questo lieto e fortunato giorno Pastore 2
  5. Vieni Imeneo, deh vieni Choro
  6. Muse, honor di Parnaso Ninfa
  7. Balletto - Lasciate i monti Choro
  8. Ma tu gentil cantor Pastore 1
  9. Rosa del Ciel, vita del Mondo Orfeo
  10. Io non dirò Euridice
  11. Balletto - Lasciate i monti Choro
  12. Vieni Imeneo, deh vieni Choro
  13. Ma s'il nostro gioir Pastore 3
  14. Ritornello - Alcun non sia Pastori
  15. ATTO SECONDO, Sinfonia - Ecco pur ch'a voi ritorno Orfeo
  16. Ritornello - Vi ricorda o boschi ombrosi Orfeo
  17. Mira, deh mira Orfeo Pastore 2
  18. Ahi caso acerbo Messaggiera
  19. In un fiorito prato Messaggiera
  20. Tu se' morta Orfeo
  21. Ahi caso acerbo Pastori
  22. Ma io Messaggiera
  23. Sinfonia - Chi ne consola ahi lassi? Pastori
  24. ATTO TERZO, Sinfonia
  25. Scorto da te mio Nume Orfeo
  26. Ecco l'atra palude Speranza
  27. Dove, ah dove te n' vai Orfeo
  28. O tu ch'innanzi morte Caronte
  29. Sinfonia - Possente Spirto Orfeo
  30. Ben mi lusinga alquanto Caronte
  31. Ahi sventurato amante Orfeo
  32. Sinfonia - Ei dorme Orfeo
  33. Sinfonia - Nulla impresa per huom Choro
  34. ATTO QUARTO, Signor quell'infelice Proserpina
  35. Benchè severo & immutabil fato Plutone
  36. Quali grazie ti rendo Proserpina
  37. Ecco il gentil cantore Un Spirito
  38. O dolcissimi lumi Orfeo
  39. Sinfonia - È la virtute un raggio Choro
  40. ATTO QUINTO, Ritornello - Questi i campi di Tracia Orfeo
  41. Sinfonia - Perchè a lo sdegno & al dolor Apollo
  42. Saliam cantando al Cielo Apollo, Orfeo
  43. Ritornello - Vanne Orfeo felice a pieno Choro
  44. Moresca
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock