THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Histoire du Tango - Falla, Paganini, Piazolla, Sarasate

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Histoire du Tango - Falla, Paganini, Piazolla, Sarasate
Histoire du Tango - Falla, Paganini, Piazolla, Sarasate


Violinist Augustin Hadelich, partnered by award-winning guitarist Pablo Sáinz Villegas, conjures a dark and sultry night of fiery, hot-blooded dancing on Histoire du Tango, featuring music by Falla, Paganini, Piazzolla and Sarasate.

In a short space of time Augustin Hadelich has become one of the most respected and admired violinists of his generation. Two critically acclaimed and Billboard Classical Chart-topping releases for Avie, a string of major debuts with the likes of the New York Philharmonic, Boston Symphony, Cleveland Orchestra, Los Angeles Philharmonic, San Francisco, St. Louis and National Symphony Orchestras, and the BBC Philharmonic, multiple awards including an Avery Fisher Career Grant and a Borletti-Butoni Trust Award, have resulted in major media coverage in The New Yorker, The New York Times, The Los Angeles Times, Philadelphia Inquirer, and, among many others, and an ever-widening and adoring fan base.

On 'Histoire du Tango', Augustin conjures a dark and sultry night of fiery, hot-blooded dancing. Partnered by award-winning Spanish guitarist Pablo Sáinz Villegas, Augustin traces the history of Argentina's national dance in Piazzolla's title track, stirs up folk, gypsy and flamenco dances which inspired Falla's Popular Spanish Songs, and tosses off a fusillade of pyrotechnics in works by the pinnacles of 19th-century violin performance, Paganini and Sarasate.

Personnel: Augustin Hadelich (violin), Pablo Sáinz Villegas (guitar)

Critical acclaim for Augustin Hadelich:

"Hand in hand with the intelligence of the programming go wondrous playing of the violinist Augustin Hadelich ...exceptionally compelling performances...a disc that cannot be recommended highly enough." - Gramophone Editor's Choice (on Echoes of Paris)

"If a layer of surface noise were added to Augustin Hadelich's recent solo-violin recording on the Avie label, you might think you were hearing a virtuoso out of the Golden Age." - The New Yorker

"An exacting focus, an unerring dramatic sense and a rich, beautiful easygoing but winning virtuosity." - The New York Times (on Flying Solo)

"Impressive - intonation dead-on, with a luscious tone and an Old World grace that you don't hear very much from young violinists anymore." - Los Angeles Times


  1. Name
  2. Ástor Piazzolla: Histoire du Tango, Bordel 1900
  3. Café 1930
  4. Nightclub 1960
  5. Concert d'aujourd'hui
  6. Manuel de Falla: Canciones Populares Españolas, El paño moruno
  7. Asturiana
  8. Españolas Jota
  9. Nana
  10. Polo
  11. Nicolò Paganini: Sonata Concertata in A Major, Allegro spiritoso
  12. Adagio assai espressivo
  13. Rondeau: Allegretto con brio Scherzando
  14. Moses Variations on the G string
  15. Pablo de Sarasate: Zigeunerweisen Op 20 in c minor
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock