THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Welcome 2 Detroit - The 20th Anniversary Edition

7" Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Box Set
Catalog Number:
Welcome 2 Detroit - The 20th Anniversary Edition
Welcome 2 Detroit - The 20th Anniversary Edition


BBE Music announces a special 20th Anniversary edition of one of the most important records in the label's history: J Dilla's Welcome 2 Detroit, presented in a deluxe 7" vinyl box set boasting instrumentals, two brand new interpretations by Azymuth and Muro, a stash of previously unreleased alternative mixes and studio outtakes pressed over 12 discs, plus a book revealing the album's hidden story, told by those who were there.First issued by BBE Music on Monday 26th of February 2001, Welcome 2 Detroit was James Dewitt Yancey aka Jay Dee's first solo outing and the debut appearance of his new 'J Dilla' moniker (bestowed on him by none other than Busta Rhymes). The album also inaugurated the producer-led Beat Generation album series, which would later spawn classic LPs by DJ Jazzy Jeff, Pete Rock, DJ Spinna, Marley Marl and even, all of whom had been inspired to reach for new creative heights by hearing Dilla's magnum opus.Choosing to showcase his own voice and the voices of local rap-heroes from across the city instead of big stars, Welcome 2 Detroit marked a coming of age for the then 27 year-old producer, who fully embraced the creative-freedom offered by BBE for his first solo project. As Dilla tells it: "Peter (Adarkwah, founder of BBE) let me do whatever I wanted to do. So, I wanted to put people on there who are gonna spit y'know, lyrically and represent Detroit. Because I wouldn't have been able to pull this album off if it came out under a major. Cos they're not gonna let you just do a song or you can't just do an instrumental. You gotta have this feature and you're Jay Dee, why ain't you got Erykah Badu? Why ain't you got so and so on your album? I'd have had to go through all of that, instead of just putting out.y'know, Beej on this joint!"The album would prove to be the perfect distillation of Dilla's Detroit. From Kraftwerk-inspired Tech Noir that would make Metroplex proud, through subtle echoes from Africa, live jazz-funk and bossa-nova grooves, to tough Midwest boom-bap, this record


  1. Name
  2. Yâ€all Ainâ€t Ready
  3. Yâ€all Ainâ€t Ready (Instrumental)
  4. Think Twice (faded)
  5. Think Twice (Instrumental - faded)
  6. The Clapper feat. Blu
  7. The Clapper (Instrumental)
  8. Shake It Down
  9. Shake It Down (Instrumental)
  10. Come Get It feat. Elzhi (edit)
  11. Come Get It (Instrumental - edit)
  12. Pause feat Frank 'n' Dank
  13. Pause (Instrumental)
  14. B.B.E. - Big Booty Express
  15. B.B.E. - Big Booty Express (Instrumental)
  16. Beej-N-Dem Pt.2 feat. Beej
  17. Beej-N-Dem Pt.2 (Instrumental)
  18. Brazilian Groove
  19. Brazilian Groove EWF (Instrumental)
  20. Itâ€s Like That (Edit) feat. Hodge Podge, Lacks
  21. It's Like That (Instrumental)
  22. Give It Up
  23. Give It Up (Instrumental)
  24. Rico Suave Bossa Nova
  25. Azymuth †Rico Suave Bossa Nova (Vinyl Edit)
  26. Feat. Phat Kat
  27. Feat. Phat Kat (Instrumental)
  28. African Rhythms
  29. African Rhythms (Instrumental)
  30. One
  31. One (Instrumental)
  32. Itâ€s Like That (Alternate Version)
  33. African Rhythms (No Drums)
  34. Beej-N-Dem (og) feat. Beej
  35. Brazilian Groove EWF (No Drums, No Vocal)
  36. Give It Up (Acapella)
  37. Think Twice (DJ Muro's KG Mix)
  38. Think Twice (DJ Muro's KG Mix Instrumental)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock