THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Brambles And Thorns

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Brambles And Thorns
Brambles And Thorns


Born on the island of Jersey, he moved with his family to Canada at the age of eight. "Brambles and Thorns" is Hannam's fifth album and his first for Borealis. Watch for UK touring in early 2013. From the prairies in Southern Alberta comes one of Canada's best folk/roots songwriters, John Wort Hannam. For five years John Wort Hannam taught grade 9 language arts on the largest reserve in Canada The Kainai Nation, part of the Blackfoot Confederacy. But in 1997 he heard a Loudon Wainwright III record and was hooked by the music and stories. In 1998 he bought a guitar and learnt some chords. In 2002 he quit teaching and began to pursue the dream of being a working musician. John has achieved some fine accolades in a few short years including a mainstage performance at the 2009 Kerrville Folk Fest, three Grand Prizes at the Calgary Folk Fest Songwriting Competition, and numerous nominations and awards. With comparisons to Gordon Lightfoot, James Keelaghan, and John Prine, John Wort Hannam is a born story- teller with a keeneye for the quirky and lyrics that create stories behind the songs.


  1. Name
  2. Great Lakes
  3. Pretty Good
  4. Ain't Lonesome Enough
  5. Poor Man
  6. Song In My Heart
  7. Nothing At All
  8. Out Here
  9. Dickson's Slough
  10. Memphis
  11. Damn Tattoo
  12. Radiant Land
  13. Beautiful Friend
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock