THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CDs | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Before The Birds

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Before The Birds
Before The Birds


"Over the past few years Antrim's Ben Glover has been steadily refining his craft as a world class singer-songwriter. It seems all that hard work has paid off, as his latest offering "Before The Birds' sees the troubadour at his career best. Recorded in Nashville, the ten track opus is an alt.county tour de force that effortlessly veers from bourbon-soaked ballads ('Almost Home') to Heartbreakers-esque pop-rock ('You Are The Same As The Tide') all of which marks Glover as one of Ireland's finest tunesmiths. The addition of backing vocalist Kaci Bolls makes much of the material on "Before The Birds" soar to the stars and there's rarely a wasted note on this remarkable release." Hotpress Ben Glover has been compelled to write songs since his mid-teens growing up in County Antrim, Northern Ireland - when he was awoken and unsettled by Bob Dylan. Armed with a law degree from Queens University Belfast, he put his legal ambitions on hold to pursue a career in music. That career got its start with Glover's debut outing, The Week The Clocks Changed, produced by J.D. Foster (Calexico, Richmond Fontaine) and featuring guest appearances by A-list roots music artists including Jim Lauderdale, Buddy Miller and Vince Gill. Through the Noise, through the Night followed in 2009, which was produced by Neilson Hubbard (Kim Richey, Matthew Perryman Jones, Glen Phillips), and drew rave reviews and comparisons to the likes of Ryan Adams and Bruce Springsteen. Relocating to Nashville in '09 - to summon the spirits of great songwriters that came before him - Hank, Willie, Cash and Kristofferson - Glover began penning new tunes with some of Music Row's finest, including acclaimed singer-songwriter, Mary Gauthier. His second record Through the Noise, Through the Night was filled with soul-moving melodies that linger and stir. Now comes his 2011 outing, Before the Birds, again produced by Neilson Hubbard and recorded in Nashville.


  1. Name
  2. Trick Of The Light
  3. I Am With You
  4. To Believe
  5. Any Other Way
  6. Almost Home
  7. Song Of A Caged Bird Singing
  8. You Are The Same As The Tide
  9. Lockdown
  10. Sweet On
  11. At The Car Park
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite