THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Born to Be Blue

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Born to Be Blue
Born to Be Blue


Donald Brown's 'Born to Be Blue', sees the pianist/composer team up with Kenny Garrett and Wallace Roney for the first time since they were all members of Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers in the 1980s. This occasion would be illustrious enough in itself but when these titans of today's jazz scene are joined in the front line by a musician of the stature of Ravi Coltrane, then this recording becomes a special event indeed.

A generational concept is woven into Brown's choice of material for the album as he features songs by three of his favourite composer/pianists, each one representing a different era: Thelonious Monk, McCoy Tyner and Geoff Keezer. Other highlights include the Blues-drenched version of Mel Tormé's title track, the spirited approach to Irving Berlins "Cheek to Cheek" and Cole Porter's "Just One of Those Things".

Donald Brown was raised in Memphis and cut his teeth working as a session musician for Hi Records, with artists like Al Green and Ann Peeples. He toured with Stax artists Rufus Thomas, William Bell and the Soul Children, and was introduced to Art Blakey by fellow Memphis pianist James Williams. He has also performed with leading jazz artists such as Donald Byrd, Joe Henderson and Freddie Hubbard, to name a few.

Personnel: Donald Brown (piano, keyboards), Kenny Garrett (alto & soprano saxophone), Wallace Roney (trumpet), Ravi Coltrane (tenor & soprano saxophone), Mark Boling (guitars), Robert Hurst (double bass), Marcus Gilmore, Kenneth Brown (drums), Rudy Bird (percussion), Emily Mathis (flute - 6 & 8), Vance Thompson (flugelhorn - 6)


  1. Name
  2. Bye Ya
  3. Daly Avenue
  4. Just One of Those Things
  5. Dad's Delight
  6. Cheek to Cheek
  7. The Innocent Young Lovers
  8. Born to Be Blue
  9. Fly with the Wind
  10. Take me a Breath Away
  11. You Must Believe in Spring
  12. I Cover the Waterfront
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock