THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Solid State And Loose Ends

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Solid State And Loose Ends
Solid State And Loose Ends


As one of Canada's most sought after producers, session musicians and guitarists, Steve Dawson spends much of his time helping other songwriters and musicians bring their creative visions to life. As wonderful as these collaborations are, it's when Dawson hunkers down in his Henhouse Studio to record his own music that he truly shines, and the 7 time Juno Award-winning (2 as artist, 5 as producer) artist has come up with something special this time around. 'Solid States and Loose Ends' is a sublime set of new songs that play to all of Dawson's many musical strengths. Inspired by the talented musicians he's met since relocating to Music City, Dawson decided to see what he could cook up if he just 'got a great band together and played'. The rock-solid rhythm section of Gary Craig (Blackie and the Rodeo Kings, Bruce Cockburn) on drums and John Dymond (Blackie and the Rodeo Kings, K.D. Lang) on bass set the stage for some exciting music to unfold, and having worked with some of Nashville's finest musicians since moving there, he called on some of these new friends to join in; Mike Bub (Steve Earle, Del McCoury) stepped up to offer some fine doghouse bass, the brilliant Kevin McKendree (Brian Setzer, Delbert McClinton) contributed blistering piano and organ, and Fats Kaplin (Jack White, The Dead Reckoners) swooped in on fiddle, mandolin and viola. The bar was clearly set high, and Dawson certainly rose to the occasion. Whether playing acoustic or electric, slide or pedal steel, every performance on the album showcases the warmth and fluidity of his style. Rarely has the prodigious player coaxed such rich and evocative tones out of his instrument or performed with the creativity and authority that he does here. Another part of the story of 'Solid States and Loose Ends' has to do with how much Dawson has grown as a singer. His delivery has never been as nuanced or unhurried as on these evocative new songs, and when he sings with Keri Latimer (Leaf Rapids) or the sublime McCrary Sisters, it's hard to imagine ever wanting to listen to anything else.


  1. Name
  2. Loose Ends
  3. Broken Future Blues
  4. Leave My Name Behind
  5. California Saviour
  6. On Top Of The World
  7. Little Silver
  8. Riley's Henhouse Door
  9. Final Words
  10. Can't Put That Monkey On My Back
  11. Early Warning
  12. You Got What It Takes
  13. Driver's Wheel
  14. Delia
  15. Rose's Blues
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock