THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Take Me Back

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:
Take Me Back
Take Me Back


Sam Frazier, Jr., whose power as a southern soul vocalist is captured here in recordings he made between 1969 and 1971, never gained much traction in the charts, but it wasnt for lack of trying. The topics range widely, and the interracial harmony theme of Black and White Love seems particularly apropos given Fraziers comfort in the worlds of country and blues. The songs collected here demonstrate Fraziers ability to tackle a wide variety of soul styles, though a commonality to his approach is restraint. Im not a shouter, youve got to sing with feeling, explains Frazier, who expresses his admiration for Joe Simon, Bobby Womack, Arthur Alexander and Bobby Blue Bland, whose 1959 hit Ill Take Care of You he covers here. All those artists recorded in the country-soul subgenre, which Frazier contributes to here via Low Down and Loneliness, the dobro-flavored Mama Said She Aint Here, and I Got to Tell Someone. Frazier says that he still enjoys the songs collected here, and hopes that this release will result in the attention they deserved the first time around.


  1. Name
  2. Take Me Back
  3. Black and White Love
  4. Set Me Free
  5. I Been Hurt
  6. Drippin' Honey
  7. Mama Said She Ain't Here
  8. Love Fish and Bread
  9. Don't Spread Your Love Around
  10. Why Do People Play with Feelings
  11. No Count Man
  12. Low Down & Loneliness
  13. I'll Take Care of You
  14. I Don't Want Another Love
  15. I Got To Tell Someone
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite