Please Note: Due to a Royal Mail Service Outage affecting all International/EU/USA packages, orders shipping outside the UK are currently heavily delayed.

THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Strange Effect

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Strange Effect
Strange Effect


Their first shows were a decade ago (they were barely 15 then) and only now have Howlin' Jaws made their debut record. The melodies of 60's English pop and the cutting energy of American garage rock sliced together into the trio's long-awaited debut album.

They recorded it in London with the illustrious Liam Watson, owner of the Toe Rag studio, where a totem of contemporary rock was recorded, the White Stripes' Elephant album. With Liam as a tour guide they delved into each song in an attempt to get to the bottom of each song, in an effort to simplify and intensify.

In the end, it's a short album, with no dead time. The pulsation of the blues, the melodies and the choruses which take the sun, the fuzz guitars that shimmer and vibrate, the record speaks to us. The single "Heartbreaker" feeds in the romance. "She Lies", "Long Gone" and "Sugar Mummy" point south with swampy bluesy guitars in full effect and "Dust" sets the mood for an eastern spaghetti western.


  1. Name
  2. Safety Pack
  3. Heartbreaker
  4. She Lines
  5. Long Gone The Time
  6. Love Makes The World Go Round
  7. Dust
  8. The Seed
  9. Sugar Mummy
  10. Rainy Days
  11. My Jealousy
  12. Goodbye
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite