THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe


Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:


For listeners of the innocence mission, the Lancaster, Pennsylvania trio are beyond a favorite band, more like a beloved companion, such is the intensity and fragility of their sound and vision, spearheaded by Karen Peris' heartbreaking, breathtaking voice. Those fans include Sufjan Stevens and Sam Beam (Iron & Wine), who have both covered innocence mission songs, and in whose company the trio deserve to be bracketed. Originally released on CD in 2003 befriended received high praise from NPR, Pitchfork, Paste and many others. Arguably their best work, befriended, is a haunting collection of 10 songs (plus a bonus track) that features the interplay of Don Peris' gorgeously warm and shimmering electric guitars with Karen's transcendently lovely vocals and moving lyrics. Sufjan Stevens calls the innocence mission "moving and profound," adding, "What makes Karen Peris' lyrics so remarkable is the economy of words, sensory language, concrete nouns - everyday objects take on tremendous meaning. For me it's helpful to be able to see the song, if I can," Karen says. This LP version is available on Purple colored vinyl and includes the previously unreleased bonus track "Words of My Brother." This is the first time the LP will be released in North America. NPR Top 10 Albums of 2003 "Befriended is a bucolic, nuanced bit of Sunday morning coffee-and-wistfulness, lovingly strummed acoustic guitars (augmented by the occasional organ line, sparingly applied upright bass, and light, flickering drums), rolling out time-tested chords with unwavering earnestness, revisiting the sweet, confessional early-70s folk of Joni Mitchell and the late-80s lilt of the Sundays and Cocteau Twins." - Pitchfork


  1. Name
  2. Tomorrow On The Runway
  3. When Mac Was Simming
  4. I Never Knew You From The Sun
  5. Beautiful Change
  6. Martha Avenue Love Song
  7. One For Sorrow Two For Joy
  8. No Storms Come
  9. Sweep Down Early
  10. Walking Around
  11. Look For Me As You Go By
  12. Words Of My Brother
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

Search engine powered by ElasticSuite