THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Live At The Witch Trials (Red Vinyl)

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:
Live At The Witch Trials (Red Vinyl)
Live At The Witch Trials (Red Vinyl)


The Fall's first studio album, reissued as a 3CD clamshell box-set (Also available as a limited edition red coloured vinyl LP). .Founded by its only constant member, Mark E. Smith, The Fall formed in Manchester in 1976 and were one of the most prominent post-punk groups in the world. Musically, there may have been several stylistic changes over the years, but it was often characterised by an abrasive guitar-driven sound and frequent use of repetition, always underpinned by Smith's distinctive vocals and often cryptic lyrics. "They are always different; they are always the same." John Peel.Live At The Witch Trials is the debut studio album - released 16th March 1979 - these editions celebrate the fortieth anniversary of this seminal album. Originally released through record label Step-Forward, it was recorded in a single day and mixed by producer Bob Sargeant. .Mark E. Smith's lyrics include his unique commentary on the music business ('Music Scene'), poorly paid jobs ('Industrial Estate') and drugs ('No Xmas For John Quays', 'Like To Blow', 'Frightened', 'Underground Medecin'). Sounds magazine reviewer Dave McCullough gave it five stars at the time of release, writing: "an album of staggeringly rich, mature music, inner questioning hand in hand with rock and roll at its fiercest, its finest, its most honest, rock and roll at its naked, most stimulating". Featuring the one and only Mark E. Smith alongside Martin Bramah, Marc Riley, Karl Burns and Yvonne Pawlett..This is first release in Cherry Red's new series of deluxe Fall reissues: "Fall Sound Archive". The 3CD version comes housed in a clamshell boxset. Alongside the full album is a disc of b-sides and session tracks and a live show from Mr Pickwick's in Liverpool 1978. The boxset also features a booklet of new sleeve notes by Daryl Easlea and has been remastered by long-term Fall engineer Andy Pearce.


  1. Name
  2. Frightened
  3. Underground Medecin
  4. Crap Rap 2/Like To Blow
  5. Two Steps Back
  6. Rebellious Jukebox
  7. Live At The Witch Trials
  8. No Xmas For John Quays
  9. Futures And Pasts
  10. Various Times
  11. Music Scene
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock