THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Start Here (LP)

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Gate Fold Vinyl
Catalog Number:
Start Here
Start Here


Following the demise of emo band Mineral in 1997, singer/guitarist Chris Simpson (Mineral/ Zookeeper/ Mountain Time) and bassist Jeremy Gomez reunited to form The Gloria Record. Taking an acoustic and more organic approach than their previous work, The Gloria Record (with the addition of guitarist Brian Hubbard, drummer Matt Hammon, later replaced by Brian Malone and Ben Houtman on the keys, organs and synthesisers) were unarguably the logical progression from Mineral's emo throes - quieter, delicate and fervently impassioned. Heralded as a "band with big visions and bombastic sounds", the quintet fostered their admiration for artists with similar arena sized visions ( Radiohead, REM, U2) to produce a sound that was reminiscent of their British contemporaries and American indies.In 1998 the band released their self-titled EP, followed by the intricate offering of 2000's A Lull In Traffic and 2002's full length effort Start Here, before disbanding after extensive US tours in 2004.Start Here, the brilliant debut album from The Gloria Record is back on vinyl at long last. Originally released in April 2002, the ten songs are bolstered with four bonus tracks including rarity The Dead Brother, a live version of L'Anniversaire Triste and demos of I Was Born In Omaha and My Funeral Party.Start Here will be released on black double vinyl in a gatefold sleeve on April 16th.The Gloria Record in the press:".stacked to the gills with nuances that pay back repeat listens in a big way." - Austin Chronicle "Where their earlier works were true emotional explorations -- singer Chris Simpson's heart fully on sleeve -- The Gloria Record abandons their emo roots for an indie rock growl" - Popmatters"Simpson's work in Mineral and the dream-pop act The Gloria Record had long established him as a formidable songwriter." - Bandcamp Daily


  1. Name
  2. Start Here
  3. Ascension Dream
  4. Good Morning, Providence
  5. The Overpass
  6. Cinema Air
  7. My Funeral Party
  8. I Was Born In Omaha
  9. The Immovable Motorist
  10. Salvation Army
  11. The Dead Brother
  12. Ambulance
  13. L'Anniversaire Triste (Live)
  14. I Was Born In Omaha (Demo)
  15. My Funeral Party (Demo)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock