THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Acoustic Classics

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Acoustic Classics
Acoustic Classics


Acoustic Classics, a collection of newly recorded timeless Richard Thompson songs, features 14 tracks culled from his 40 plus year music career. For the first time ever, acoustic versions of songs like "I Want To See The Bright Lights Tonight" and "Dimming of the Day" mingle with cornerstone classics like "1952 Vincent Black Lightning" and "Beeswing" as well as other acoustically rendered gems. "I really wanted to have something that would reflect the acoustic shows," Richard explains, "But we didn't have anything like that. Just some old, slightly scratchy recordings of solo sets that I wasn't really happy with." His last proper solo acoustic release was the live Small Town Romance, and that was more than 30 years ago! In the meantime, the acoustic shows have evolved as a full parallel to his band tours. Thompson was named by Rolling Stone Magazine's as one of the Top 20 Guitarists of all time and considered one of the UK's most outstanding songwriters and musicians. The recipient of a BBC Lifetime Achievement Award, Mojo's Les Paul Award and curator of the prestigious Meltdown Festival at the Southbank in 2010, Thompson was most recently honoured with a Lifetime Achievement Award for Songwriting by the Americana Music Association.


  1. Name
  2. I Want To See The Bright Lights Tonight
  3. Walking On A Wire
  4. Wall Of Death
  5. Down Where The Drunkards Roll
  6. One Door Opens
  7. Persuasion
  8. 1952 Vincent Black Lightning
  9. I Misunderstood
  10. From Galway To Graceland
  11. Valerie
  12. Shoot Out The Lights
  13. Beeswing
  14. When The Spell Is Broken
  15. Dimming Of The Day
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock