THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Island Mentality

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Island Mentality
Island Mentality


The debut album from the UK's most exciting large jazz ensemble in recent years, founded by trumpeter/composer Laura Jurd. This hard hitting, cross-genre big band is reminiscent of the eighties powerhouse Loose Tubes, whilst developing a unique, ever-evolving identity of its own.

'Island Mentality' is a refreshing addition to the UK's superb history of large jazz ensembles and composers. The music indulges heavily in folk/world influences and jazz fusion-inspired grooves, as well as dishing out material steeped in melody alongside the occasional splash of free improvisation. Showcasing the music of young British composers Laura Jurd, Simon Marsh and Alex Roth the record also features a track by saxophonist/composer Mark Lockheart.

The Chaos Orchestra was born within the walls of Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance and consists of Trinity Laban students past and present alongside fellow graduates from the Royal Academy of Music and other institutions. Captivating audiences with its youthful energy the band plays well-crafted compositions with a pleasing surprise around every corner, written by composers of skill way beyond their years.

'Island Mentality' takes you on a journey of hard-hitting tunes, energetic and spirited soloing amongst highly-sophisticated ensemble writing full of welcome surprises. The Chaos Orchestra will no doubt take the musical community by storm with a debut record which pulls out all the stops!

Personnel: Laura Jurd (director & trumpet, track 5), Jennah Smart (flutes), Rob Cope (clarinets), Simon Marsh, Will Scott, Mike Underwood, Greg Sinclair, Leo Richardson (saxophones), Rob Greenwood, Tom Dennis, Mike Soper, Matt Roberts (trumpets), Raphael Clarkson, Emma Bassett, Rosie Turton, George Wrench (trombones), Alex Roth (guitar), Elliot Galvin (piano), Conor Chaplin (electric bass), Corrie Dick (drums), Lauren Kinsella (Vocals - tracks 1,4,6), Special guest: Mark Lockheart (soprano saxophone - track 6)


  1. Name
  2. No Man is an Island
  3. Giant's Causeway
  4. Zigaboo
  5. Oh So Beautiful
  6. Strange Attractors
  7. Horses for Courses
  8. Yoh!
  9. The Charm of Impossibilities
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite