THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Giuseppe Tartini: Sonatas for Solo Violin

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Giuseppe Tartini: Sonatas for Solo Violin
Giuseppe Tartini: Sonatas for Solo Violin


Four Solo Violin Sonatas by the highly influential 18th century Italian composer Giuseppe Tartini are performed on this new recording by Luigi de Filippi, violinist of the acclaimed piano trio, Voces Intimae. The disc includes the Sonatas No. 17 in D major, No. 4 in C major, No. 10 in B flat major, and No. 15 in G major.

Violinist and conductor Luigi De Filippi studied violin, piano and composition in Rome, showing an early interest in jazz and contemporary music. He subsequently appeared as concertmaster in such orchestras as the Rome Opera House, La Fenice Theatre in Venice, the London Mozart Players, and the Flanders Orchestra in Antwerp. In London he made his debut as conductor with the London Mozart Players, and he appeared as soloist/conductor at the Queen Elizabeth Hall, the Royal Festival Hall and the Barbican Centre in London, the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, and the Palau de la Musica in Barcelona.

In recent times Luigi de Filippi has featured in six programmes on contemporary music for Italian Television, and broadcast on BBC Radio 3 and RAI Radio 3, with live performances and interviews. He is the violinist of the Voces Intimae piano trio whose double CD of the complete trios of Johann Nepomuk Hummel, issued by Warner Classics, was one of BBC Radio 3's 'CDs of the Year' in 2006.

Personnel: Luigi De Filippi (violin)


  1. Name
  2. Sonata No. 17 in D major, Andante cantabile Di se senti
  3. Allegro assai
  4. Aria del Tasso
  5. Furlana
  6. Sonata No. 4 in C major, Cantabile / Andante
  7. Allegro assai
  8. Presto
  9. Sonata No. 10 in B flat major, Largo
  10. Allegro
  11. Affettuoso
  12. Menuet
  13. Sonata No. 15 in G major, Grave
  14. Allegro
  15. Allegro
  16. Sonata No. 14 in G major, Andante cantabile
  17. Allegro assai
  18. Andante cantabile
  19. Allegro
  20. Sonata in A minor, Cantabile
  21. Allegro
  22. Allegro
  23. Giga
  24. Tema con variazioni
  25. Grave
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock