THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Prokofiev: Complete Works for Violin & Piano

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Prokofiev: Complete Works for Violin & Piano
Prokofiev: Complete Works for Violin & Piano


On their fourth Challenge Classics recording, the highly successful Dutch duo of Isabelle van Keulen and Ronald Brautigam perform the complete works for violin and piano by Sergei Prokofiev. The pieces are the Sonata in F minor opus 80, the Sonata in D major opus 94, and the Five Melodies opus 35a. Prokofiev only produced three works for the combination of violin and piano, two of which are transcriptions by the composer himself. The Second Sonata was originally written for flute and piano while the Five Melodies are song arrangements. The opus numbers and titles of both sonatas are misleading since the D major Sonata opus 94 had its premiere before the opus 80 Sonata in F minor. Isabelle van Keulen has an established reputation as a violinist and violist of world class stature. She is closely involved in the performance of contemporary music, and works by living composers are part of her repertoire. Though she has performed with many famous orchestras and conductors as a soloist, chamber music is central to her music-making. She is particularly well-known for her formidable duo with pianist Ronald Brautigam and they appear together regularly at the Wigmore Hall in London. Ronald Brautigam is one of Holland's leading musicians. Over the last few years he has released several recordings with Isabelle van Keulen on Challenge Classics including CDs featuring Shostakovich's Violin and Viola Sonatas, Violin Sonatas by Richard Strauss, Respighi and Rota, and music for violin and piano by Grieg, Elgar, and Sibelius. Personnel: Isabelle van Keulen (violin), Ronald Brautigam (piano)


  1. Name
  2. Violin Sonata No. 2 in D major, opus 94, I. Moderato
  3. II. Scherzo. Presto
  4. III. Andante
  5. IV. Allegro con brio
  6. Violin Sonata No. 1 in F minor, opus 80, I. Andante assai
  7. II. Allegro brusco
  8. III. Andante
  9. IV. Allegrissimo - Andante assai, come prima
  10. Cinque Mélodies, opus 35a, I. Andante
  11. II. Lento, ma non troppo
  12. II. Animato, ma non allegro
  13. III. Allegretto leggero e scherzando
  14. IV. Andante non troppo
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock