THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Schubert: Winterreise

Super Audio CD
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Hard Back book
Catalog Number:
Schubert: Winterreise
Schubert: Winterreise


World famous tenor Christoph Prégardien continues his series of recordings for Challenge Classics of Schubert song-cycles, with what many consider to be the composer's greatest work in the genre "Winterreise". As with the previous critically acclaimed release of "Die Schone Mullerin" the pianist on this hybrid SACD is Michael Gees.

Christoph Prégardien has made almost 200 recordings for all the major labels, amongst which are several for Challenge Classics. These include recordings released in 2008 of Schubert's "Die Schone Mullerin" with Michael Gees, which was a Gramophone Editor's Choice, and the same composer's "Schwanengesang" with Andreas Staier. Prégardien and Gees also released the award winning 'Between Life and Death' in 2009, which featured songs and arias by composers including Mahler, Schubert, Schumann, Wolf, Brahms, and Mozart.

This recording of Winterreise is also available on DVD and Blu-ray, featuring a studio performance of the cycle, and a documentary with artist interviews and behind-the-scenes footage of the studio recording process.

Personnel: Christoph Prégardien (tenor), Michael Gees (piano)


  1. Name
  2. Winterreise, opus 89, D 911, Gute Nacht
  3. Die Wetterfahne
  4. Gefror'ne Tränen
  5. Erstarrung
  6. Der Lindenbaum
  7. Wasserflut
  8. Auf dem Flusse
  9. Rückblick
  10. Irrlicht
  11. Rast
  12. Frühlingstraum
  13. Einsamkeit
  14. Die Post
  15. Der greise Kopf
  16. Die Krähe
  17. Letzte Hoffnung
  18. Im Dorfe
  19. Der stürmische Morgen
  20. Täuschung
  21. Der Wegweiser
  22. Das Wirtshaus
  23. Mut
  24. Die Nebensonnen
  25. Der Leiermann
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide