THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Soundscapes: Mendelssohn, Elgar, De Raaff, Price

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Soundscapes: Mendelssohn, Elgar, De Raaff, Price
Soundscapes: Mendelssohn, Elgar, De Raaff, Price


The debut recital by Dutch violinist Tosca Opdam on Challenge Classics includes the world premiere recording of Robin de Raaff's Sonatas for Violin adn Piano No 2 'North Atlantic Light', Carnegie Hall Version.

The leit motiv of this release is 'soundscape', the capacity of music to evoke landscapes.

"A violinist whose musical intelligence and expressive clarity make for a distinctive and gorgeous artistry" (Theaterscene)

Praised for her "enchanting musical personality" (De Volkskrant), Dutch violinist Tosca Opdam has captivated audiences and critics alike with her luminously elegant performances, musical intelligence and a gift for storytelling that surpasses mere virtuosity. Tosca won First Prize in the 2011 Oskar Back Violin Competition. She subsequently performed at the Royal Concertgebouw and returned for a sold-out debut recital lauded by The Huffington Post as "at times bold and regal, other times poignant and tender; at all times rendered gorgeously" - and a performance in honor of the re-opening of Amsterdam's Rijksmuseum. Her 2015 performance as part of the Liberation Day Concert on the Amstel River, with King Willem-Alexander and Queen Maxima in attendance, was broadcast live on Dutch national television. Other live broadcast performances include broadcasts on NPO Radio 4, WQXR (New York), Podium Witteman (Netherlands). Tosca Opdam made her recital debut at Carnegie Hall's Weill Recital Hall in June 2018 performing a program that included the World Premiere of Robin de Raaff's North Atlantic Light, dedicated to Ms. Opdam and inspired by the Willem de Kooning painting of the same name. In May 2019 she premiered the work's orchestral version with the Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra at the Royal Concertgebouw, led by Marc Albrecht. Recent and upcoming highlights include a performance of Bartok's violin concerto no. 2 with the Sudwestdeutsche Philharmonie Konstanz under the baton of Annedore Neufeld, recitals at the main hall of De Doelen, Rotterdam, Carnegie Hall's Zankel Hall, the Hong Kong Generation Next Music Festival, as well as the lead role in a program dedicated to Mendelssohn year 2022, including his concerto for violin, piano and strings orchestra alongside his Octet.

"The album is a very engaging program of a bit of the new and a bit of the well-established, all in superb sound quality from recording engineer Bert van der Wolf." - Paul Rushton

"ravishing poetic playing" "performed with captivating sensitivity" BBC Music Magazine 4 STARS/ 4 STARS


  1. Name
  2. Elgar: Violin Sonata Op. 82 - I. Allegro. Risoluto
  3. Violin Sonata Op. 82 - II. Romance. Andante
  4. Violin Sonata Op. 82 - III. Allegro non troppo
  5. Florence Price: The Deserted Garden
  6. Mendelssohn: Violin Sonata in F Major - I. Allegro vivace
  7. Violin Sonata in F Major - II. Adagio
  8. Violin Sonata in F Major - III. Assai vivace
  9. Mendelssohn: Lieder ohne Worte Op. 62 - I. Andante espressivo
  10. Robin de Raaff: Sonata for Violin and Piano No.2 'North Atlantic Light' - Carnergie Hall Version
  11. Castlenuovo-Tedesco: Sea Murmurs
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite