THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

New Release

Bach: Italian Concerto & French Overture

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Bach: Italian Concerto & French Overture
Bach: Italian Concerto & French Overture


Mahan Esfahani again highlights the radicalism, virtuosityand sheer joyousnessof the works recorded here, both in his playing and in his uncommonly engaging booklet notes. Since making his London debut in 2009, Mahan Esfahani has established himself as the first harpsichordist in a generation whose work spans virtually all areas of classical music-making, from critically acclaimed performances and recordings of standard repertoire to working with the leading composers of the day and pioneering concerto appearances with major symphony orchestras on four continents.

He was the first and only harpsichordist to be a BBC New Generation Artist (2008-2010), a Borletti-Buitoni prize winner (2009), a nominee for Gramophone's Artist of the Year (2014, 2015 and 2017) and on the shortlist as Instrumentalist of the Year for the Royal Philharmonic Society Awards (2013 and 2019).

"at its pungent best, Esfahani's joie de vivre can be uniquely captivating." BBC Music Magazine on CDA68311/2

"There's no questioning Esfahani's inquiring musical mind and absolute mastery of his instrument." Gramophone Editor's Choice


  1. Name
  2. Concerto Nach Italienischen Gusto 'Italian Concerto', BWV971 - I
  3. II. Andante
  4. III. Presto
  5. Ouverture Nach Franzosischer Art 'French Overture', BWV831 I. Ouverture
  6. II. Courante
  7. III. Gavotte I
  8. IV. Gavotte II
  9. V. Gavotte I Da Capo
  10. VI. Passepied I
  11. VII. Passepied II
  12. VIII. Passepied I Da Capo
  13. IX. Sarabande
  14. X. Bourree I
  15. XI. Bourree II
  16. XII. Bourree I Da Capo
  17. XIII. Gigue
  18. XIV. Echo
  19. Duet In E Minor, BWV802
  20. Duet In F Major, BWV803
  21. Duet In G Major, BWV804
  22. Duet In A Minor, BWV805
  23. Capriccio In B Flat Major 'on The Departure Of His Beloved Brother', BWV992
  24. II. Ist Eine Vorstellung Unterschiedlicher Casuum, Die Ihm In Der Fremde Könnten Vorfallen
  25. III. Ist Ein Allgemeines Lamento Der Freunde: Adagissimo
  26. IV. Allhier Kommen Die Freunde (weil Sie Doch Sehen, Dass Es Anders Nicht Sein Kann) Und Nehmen Abschied
  27. V. Aria Di Postiglione: Allegro Poco
  28. V. Aria Di Postiglione: Allegro Poco
  29. V. Aria Di Postiglione: Allegro Poco
  30. Capriccio In E Major 'in Honorem Johann Christoph Bachii Ohrdrufiensis', BWV993
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite