Please Note: Due to a Royal Mail Service Outage affecting all International/EU/USA packages, orders shipping outside the UK are currently heavily delayed.

THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Teddy (Expanded Edition)

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Teddy (Expanded Edition)
Teddy (Expanded Edition)


Having begun his career as the main vocalist for Philly Soul pioneers, Harold Melvin & the Blue Notes, Teddy Pendergrass maintained an assured presence that always sounded like it was in partnership with the music. It's this kind of conviction that would continue on through his solo work that would, in turn, stand out as one of the most truly distinctive voices of Philly Soul. Pendergrass would continue this successful relationship on Philadelphia International from 1977-1983 with 1979's Teddy LP giving him his second #1 R&B album within a year. First single 'Turn Off The Lights' (R&B #2/Pop #48) continues in the vain of the previous year's hit bedroom ballad 'Close The Door', with Pendergrass employing his trademark subtle and sensuous delivery to great effect on this Gamble & Huff penned slow burner, which was only pipped to the top of the disco dominated R&B chart (at that time) by Sister Sledge's 'We Are Family'. Second single 'Come Go With Me' (R&B #14) is another excellent Gamble & Huff ballad which is followed by 'Turn Off The Lights' as the opening tracks on Teddy. Smooth, down tempo soul cuts 'I'll Never See Heaven Again' and 'All I Need Is You' complete side A.


  1. Name
  2. Come Go With Me
  3. Turn Off the Lights
  4. I'll Never See Heaven Again
  5. All I Need Is You
  6. If You Know Like I Know
  7. Do Me
  8. Set Me Free
  9. Life Is a Circle
  10. Turn Off the Lights (Single Version)
  11. Come Go With Me (Single Version)
  12. Do Me (Single Version)
  13. If You Know Like I Know (Single Version)
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

Search engine powered by ElasticSuite