THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Splashdown The Complete Recordings 1990-1992

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)
Catalog Number:
Splashdown The Complete Recordings 1990-1992
Splashdown The Complete Recordings 1990-1992


In early 1990, The Telescopes signed to Creation Records, who were enjoying success with bands like Teenage Fanclub, Ride and Primal Scream. Over the course of 1990-1991, The Telescopes' sound evolved across three EPs. 'Precious Little' retained their earlier menace; 'Everso' was dreamier than before while 'Celeste' and 'Flying' blended psychedelia with a vaguely dancey backbeat. In 1992, The Telescopes unveiled their next album, #Untitled Second, a fascinating assemblage of their influences to date and a work which has matured well and subsequently inspired many so-called Shoegaze bands. Sadly, the band disbanded soon after the LP's release but reunited a decade later. Since then, The Telescopes have embarked on a musical adventure, creating music which is both exploratory and engaging. Only this year, they issued a new album Hidden Fields. Curated with the full cooperation of The Telescopes' frontman Stephen Lawrie, SPLASHDOWN is the first-ever compilation to properly document the band's three-year tenure with Creation Records. The first CD combines their four EPs for the label, with the added bonus of some tracks planned as the B-sides for an abandoned final EP. Disc 2 re-presents the band's second album, which is joined by bonus material including some cover versions donated to compilations and a previously unissued session for John Peel's show BBC Radio 1.


  1. Name
  2. Precious Little
  3. Deep Hole End
  4. Never Hurt You
  5. I Sense 3:03
  6. Everso 3:30
  7. Never Learn Not to Love
  8. Wish of You
  9. Celeste
  10. All a Dream
  11. Celestial
  12. Flying
  13. Soul Full of Tears
  14. High on Fire
  15. The Sleepwalk
  16. Tornado (Alt Version of Flying)
  17. Sunspray
  18. 16t#3
  19. From the Inner Void I Fear
  20. Splashdown
  21. High on Fire
  22. You Set My Soul
  23. Spaceships
  24. The Presence of Your Grace
  25. And
  26. Flying
  27. Yeah
  28. Ocean Drive
  29. Please Tell Mother
  30. To the Shore
  31. The Sleepwalk (Sitar Version)
  32. Candy Says
  33. The Good's Gone
  34. Please Tell Mother (John Peel Session 15/9/91)
  35. Splashdown (John Peel Session 15/9/91)
  36. To the Shore (John Peel Session 15/9/91)
  37. The Presence of Your Grace (John Peel Session 15/9/91)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock