THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Nine Decades Vol. 5 Ghanashya

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Nine Decades Vol. 5 Ghanashya
Nine Decades Vol. 5 Ghanashya


Nine Decades Vol. 5 is a special re-mastered recording of the music-theater piece entitled, Ghanashyam: A Broken Branch. Created out of his deep concern over the a cultural preoccupation with drugs as an easy escape from the sadhana found in disciplined hard work, Ravi Shankar wrote this outstanding piece of music in the folk tale tradition. It is an examination of the forces that can dilute the world-changing potential of the artist. Originally released on CD in the early 1990s at a truncated 60 minutes, East Meets West has re-mastered the original reels and restored a full twenty more minutes to the music, making this recording a more faithful to the audio that accompanied the original theater production.


  1. Name
  2. Ghanashyam Introduction And Overture
  3. Temple Scene And Dance Practice
  4. Holi Color Festival Song
  5. Festival Preparations
  6. Harahara Shankara Drug Pushers (temptation)
  7. Monsoon And Rain
  8. Sadness And Intoxication
  9. Spring
  10. Drugs Hallucinations The Divine
  11. Demons And Struggle
  12. Love Song(Ashtapati Of Jayadeva
  13. Dishonesty Chase Death
  14. Shadows And Loss
  15. Pining Dream Illusion
  16. Fun Possessed
  17. Exorcism Death Spirit Escape
  18. Shadows And Loss Reprise
  19. Another Day Life Goes On
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock