THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Railroad Cadences & Melancholic Anthems

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:
Railroad Cadences & Melancholic Anthems
Railroad Cadences & Melancholic Anthems


Led by drummer Jose Medeles (Breeders, 1939 Ensemble, Revival Drum Shop), Railroad Cadences & Melancholic Anthems is a drummer's tribute to guitarist and DIY iconoclast John Fahey. Joined for a series of guitar and drum duets with M. Ward, experimental guitarist Marisa Anderson, and Chris Funk (Decemberists, Stephen Malkmus), it's a genuinely honorific project, featuring not Fahey compositions, but rather a series of improvised rendezvous inspired and informed by his looseness and rhythmic idiosyncrasies. Recording in the comfortable setting of Bocce Recording in Vancouver, WA, in 2020, these duets are playful and spiritually deep, presented with snapshot clarity Medeles likens to the recordings of Alan Lomax or Chris Strachwitz, 'who boldly captured field recording of Southern chain gangs and juke joint raconteurs decades ago. The result here is similar: pure and honest recordings.'


  1. Name
  2. Please Send To J.F. With Marisa Anderson
  3. Richness Of Peace With M. Ward
  4. Golden With Chris Funk
  5. The Paper Snake With Marisa Anderson
  6. Something Else With M. Ward
  7. Before & After With Marisa Anderson
  8. Juxtaposition With Chris Funk
  9. Mid The Ice & Snow With Marisa Anderson
  10. Illumination With Chris Funk
  11. Takoma With Marisa Anderson
  12. Voice Of The Turtle With Chris Funk
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite