THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets


Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:


Recorded entirely live and set to a wonderfully cinematic yet minimalist backdrop,Tom Adams releases his achingly beautiful and cerebral debut full-length 'Silence' via Kowloon. The Cambridge born songwriter/composer effortlessly nestles expansive melodies alongside spellbinding falsetto, his neo-classical approach conveying intense emotion throughout eight intimate offerings. Adams started playing piano as a child but things didn't fall into place until he bought his first electric guitar as a teenager. He quickly became obsessed with songwriting, finding inspiration in his surroundings, "Living in the countryside is lovely for writing as you can leave so much space in your music - the perfect situation for delicate sounds." A big turning point for him came during his first visit to Berlin in the summer of 2014 however, "The night I arrived I went to a Nils Frahm show. After his set he invited a member of the audience to come onstage and play. I got up and the response was amazing." Frahm's manager subsequently took him under his wing and went on to introduce him to Kowloon Records. Since relocating to Berlin, he has found himself embracing the idea of noise for the first time, "I have in the past been extremely focused on making things perfect in my music, but now I've learnt to accept the noise and embraceimperfection. 'Silence' follows Adams' 2016 debut EP 'Voyages by Starlight.' Recorded as live takes in a single afternoon, the tactile electro-acoustic arrangements received accolades for their shimmering simplicity and the wide-ranging output of synth-guided exploits, chamber pop and melancholic piano-ambient works. Using the studio as an instrument, Adams' exploratory production techniques left his signature mark on a collection of tracks that echo the ghost of Jeff Buckley circling the musical orbits of modern innovators like Jon Hopkins, Anohni and Jónsi of Sigur Ros. Having opened for the likes of A Winged Victory for the Sullen, Perfume Genius and Moonface, Adams' striking live show features solo piano, vocals and layers of effects, with an emphasis on fluidity. "If I'm really enjoying playing a particular song, then I'll improvise a longer arrangement of it in the moment. It keeps me on my toes and also means that every show is a bit different and unique."With the impending release of 'Silence' and an exciting collection of live dates on the horizon, Tom Adams looks ready to pick up the neo-classical mantle and make 2017 his own.


  1. Name
  2. Come On, Dreamer
  3. Static
  4. Tides
  5. The Stranger
  6. Falling With You
  7. Lovely Noise
  8. Sparks
  9. Time
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock