THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Someday Is Today

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Someday Is Today
Someday Is Today


Based in Winnipeg, Manitoba, an "inland island that floats on infinite prairie ground," Living Hour has always been a band that's thrived in seclusion. Helping to foster a thriving local community, and taking inspiration from the faces and places of their hometown, the band have always been motivated by the belief that their own music only gets more interesting when it includes other voices. For their new album, Living Hour called upon friends from near and far.

The result is "Someday Is Today", the band's third full-length effort and the much-anticipated follow-up to their 2019 "Softer Faces" LP, acclaimed by the likes of NPR, Stereogum, Paste, Vice, Bandcamp, and more. On "Someday Is Today", the group's sound is collaborated with a variety of drummers including Jason Tait (The Weakerthans, Broken Social Scene) and is fleshed out further with the help of three producers: Melina Duterte (Jay Som, Bachelor, Chastity Belt), Jonathan Schenke (Parquet Courts, Snail Mail, The Drums), and Samur Khouja (Cate le Bon, Deerhunter, Regina Spektor) all of whom impart their own backgrounds on the album's finished glow.

"Someday Is Today" is Living Hour at their most pensive and longing. It was recorded over seven straight days during the dark depths of a Manitoba winter, with the band cocooned in the sounds they were making as the temperature hit -30 outside the door. The album thrives by keeping just enough connection across its varied palettes to feel like one cohesive world. Whether it's the album's soft and gorgeous harmonies or the captured sound of wind tubes being swung above their heads, the songs here feel bound by something bigger than themselves; an energy that flourished in spite of it all, a human connection that grips just strongly enough even when pushed to its frayed, unreachable extremes.


  1. Name
  2. Hold Me in Your Mind
  3. Lemons and Gin
  4. Middle Name
  5. Feelings Meeting (feat. Jay Som)
  6. December Forever
  7. Curve
  8. Hump
  9. Miss Miss Miss
  10. Exploding Rain
  11. No Body
  12. Memory Express

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite