THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

I Thought You Wanted To Know: 1978-1981

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:
I Thought You Wanted To Know: 1978-1981
I Thought You Wanted To Know: 1978-1981


23 Tracks of Remastered Early Singles, Demos, and Live Recordings with 28-Page Full Color Booklet. What we have here are home and field recordings of The dB's. Most of these tracks predate the release of Stands For deciBels by two to three years and were the basis of the signing of the band to Albion Records (UK) in 1980. Some songs are being released to the public for the first time in this package.

Now, almost thirty years after a number of these tracks first saw the light of day on Rhino Records, we find ourselves in the position of releasing the earliest of these selections from our archives to a whole new audience.

The live recordings were found after months of Chris sifting through a trove of ancient cassettes, and we are glad to be able to include these key songs from those early years. - Peter Holsapple, The dB's - Durham, NC - 2021


  1. Name
  2. (I Thought) You Wanted to Know (2021 Remix)
  3. Black and White (Don Dixon Version)
  4. Soul Kiss
  5. Bad Reputation (NY Rocker Sessions)
  6. If and When (Westbeth Sessions)
  7. The Fight (NY Rocker Sessions)
  8. Nothing Is Wrong (NY Rocker Sessions)
  9. Dynamite (NY Rocker Sessions)
  10. We Should Be in Bed (Westbeth Sessions)
  11. Ash (Westbeth Sessions)
  12. You Got It Wrong (NY Rocker Sessions)
  13. Everytime Anytime (NY Rocker Sessions)
  14. Death Garage (Live)
  15. What About that Cat? (NY Rocker Sessions)
  16. Tell Me Two Times (NY Rocker Sessions)
  17. Whats the Matter with Me? (NY Rocker Sessions)
  18. Shes Green Im Blue (NY Rocker Sessions)
  19. Time Has Come Today (Live)
  20. My Sire Wristwatch (Live)
  21. Lets Live for Today (NY Rocker Sessions)
  22. Tomorrow Never Knows (Live)
  23. My Back Pages (Live)
  24. Goin to the Club (NY Rocker Sessions w/ New Vocal)

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock