THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Emperor Of New Orleans

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:


2 CD Set - A collection of Greatest Hits, B-Sides and Previously Unreleased Tracks and the only K-Doe Collection Available. Produced by Allen Toussaint with backing by The Meters. You can't think of Ernie K-Doe without thinking of "Mother-In-Law," his 1961 chart-topper and the only pop hit on his resume. As this disc proves so well, K-Doe recorded many great sides. Those unfamiliar with K-Doe's career will undoubtedly get knocked out by "A Certain Girl" and "'Tain't It the Truth," two classics of New Orleans R&B. Toussaint's soulful, infectious arrangements wonderfully complement K-Doe's eccentric vocals, guiding the singer through the twisted narrative of Southern soul from the mud-baked Memphis sound of Stax ("Who Ever's Thrilling You Is Killing Me") to the Crescent City funk of the Meters ("Lawdy Mama") and beyond. What K-Doe lacks as a traditional vocalist he more than compensates for as a pure entertainer, and it's impossible to imagine cuts like the sex-crazed "Here Come the Girls" achieving such libidinous transcendence in the hands of a more conventional performer.


  1. Name
  2. Stoop Down Baby (Long Version)
  3. You Got To Love Me
  4. Do You Want Some
  5. Shake A Tail Feather (Part 1)
  6. Shake A Tail Feather (Part 2)
  7. I Canít Believe (She Gave It All To Me)
  8. Georgie On My Mind (Live)
  9. Mother-In-Law (Seasaint Version)
  10. Tuff-Enuff
  11. Hello My Lover
  12. Donít Le Me Down Woman
  13. Hotcha Mama
  14. Jump Into Your Love
  15. When Something Is Wrong With My Baby
  16. Fever (Outtake)
  17. Surely (Live)
  18. A Place Where We Can Be Free
  19. Let Me Love You
  20. So Good
  21. Shake, Rattle And Roll
  22. Whoever Is Thrilling You (Is Killing Me)
  23. Here Comes The Girls
  24. You Did It Baby
  25. Back Street Lover
  26. My Love For You
  27. A Long Way Back Home
  28. Iím Only Human
  29. Lady Mama
  30. Talkiní About This Woman
  31. Fly Away With Me
  32. Tíainít It The Truth (Live)
  33. Mother-In-Law (Live)

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite