THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

The Kelly Collection

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
The Kelly Collection
The Kelly Collection


John Campbell Munro was born in Glasgow and 'escaped' to Australia at the age of 18 years. Having had a flirtation with folk music in Scotland, John found the local folk haunts in Australia and was soon immersed in the music. He was a founder member of Country Express in 1969 and later Colcannon (Australia) in 1988 but he is probably best known as Eric Bogle's 'sidekick' for decades. John toured Australia and the World many times with Eric and toured widely with Colcannon, including the U.K. John recorded his solo album 'Plying My Trade' (CDTRAX312) for Greentrax in 2007. He sadly died, far too young, in 2018 after a long battle with cancer. All the songs on this CD are written by John and were recorded by Pete Titchener, only a few months before John's death. Musicians: John (vocals, guitar and mandolin); Emma Luker (fiddler and backing vocals); Kathryn Ruby (backing vocals); Kathie Renner (piano); Eric Bogle (vocals); Pete Titchener (rhythm and lead guitar plus vocals); Paul Callaghan (vocals); Roger Montgomery (monologue); Khristian Mizzi (vocals); Rob McCarthy (tenor banjo); Damien Steele Scott (bass) and Jon Jones (percussion). Kathryn Ruby takes lead vocal on 'Never Mind', Eric Bogle takes lead vocal on 'The Trial', while Eric, Paul Callaghan, Pete Titchener and Khristian Mizzi share lead vocals on 'Stringyback Creek'. Eric Bogle, May 2019, wrote: 'This, more than any other musical project that I have ever been involved in, has been a labour of love, as it has been for most of the musicians and others who so freely, generously and unstintingly gave of their time and talents in the creation of this CD. We crafted this presentation of songs not only as a tribute to the masterful musicianship and song writing of John Campbell Munro, but also because the songs themselves are fine examples of the songwriter's art and deserve to be heard. But mostly we made this CD because John was our friend and we loved him..' Ned Kelly common criminal or folk hero? Hard to say but what is undeniable: he killed three policemen at Stringyback Creek, he robbed banks at Euroa and Jerilderie, he held hostages, traded in stolen livestock and planned to derail a train carrying police to Glenrowan. And he led his brother Dan and his friends Steve Hart and Joe Byrne on a merry dance that took their lives too soon. Equally certain is that Ned was born into a family of Irish migrants who had fled religious persecution which harboured rebel attitudes. They were conspicuous in the Australian community and attracted the notice of a police force which was in the main inept, corrupt and brutish. The family and its friends were victimised and abused on a regular basis and so major friction between the clan and the authorities was inevitable. (Read more in the extensive sleeve notes). Other albums featuring John Campbell Munro available on Greentrax: CDTRAX121 - Eric Bogle and John Munro 'The Emigrant and The Exile' 1996; CDTRAX312 John Munro 'Plying My Trade' 2007; CDTRAX375 Eric Bogle with John Munro 'A Toss Of The Coin' 2013; CDTRAX391 Eric Bogle and John Munro 'Voices' 2016; CDTRAX263 Colcannon (Incl. John Munro) 'Dolphin Bay' 2004; CDTRAX282 Colcannon (Incl. John Munro) 'Journeys' 2005.


  1. Name
  2. The Journey
  3. A Different Kind Of Song
  4. They Will Be Waiting
  5. Never Mind
  6. Stringyback Creek
  7. The Letter
  8. Aaron Sherritt/The Outlaw
  9. Get Ready
  10. Glenrowan
  11. The Trial
  12. When Tomorrow Comes
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock