THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Dark Thrones And Black Flags

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Dark Thrones And Black Flags
Dark Thrones And Black Flags


Darkthrone's 14th album, a perfect fusion of blackened rock, metal and punk was originally released in 2008. 'Dark Thrones & Black Flags' was a continuation of the Darkthrone sound, style and uncompromising attitude witnessed on the acclaimed 2007 album 'F.O.A.D' & taken to the next level.

'Dark Thrones & Black Flags' is equal parts Fenriz and Nocturno Culto. The duo share song-writing and vocal duties throughout the release (with some surprising results) and further perfect the art of "the riff". A mastery of both composition & pure organic sound is also evident on possibly their strongest release of recent times, an album of stripped down, dirty metal.

Recorded and produced by the band themselves at Necrohell II studios, Norway, 'Dark Thrones & Black Flags' is an exercise in pushing the conventions of the narrow perception of what should make black metal, becoming more timeless and faithful to its spirit than most could ever wish for in the process.

Artwork appears courtesy of Dennis Dread, featuring the band's then-mascot, 'Mr Necro'.


  1. Name
  2. The Winds They Called The Dungeon Shaker ( 03:51 )
  3. Death Of All Oaths ( Oath Minus ) ( 04:16 )
  4. Hiking Metal Punks ( 03:15 )
  5. Blacksmith Of The North ( Keep That Ancient Fire ) ( 03:14 )
  6. Norway In September ( 05:47 )
  7. Grizzly Trade ( 04:17 )
  8. Hanging Out In Haiger ( 03:23 )
  9. Dark Thrones And Black Flags ( 02:25 )
  10. Launchpad To Nothingness ( 04:31 )
  11. Witch Ghetto ( 03:54 )
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock