THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Tengo Blues

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Tengo Blues
Tengo Blues


Jonn Del Toro Richardson grew up in Houston, Texas, and you can hear it in every note he sings and plays. You can hear the Latin music that is his birthright - his uncles, aunts and grandparents played in touring mariachi bands, and often got together to play on his back porch. You can also hear the influence of the country and R&B music that was played in his house, and particularly the blues that drifted strongly over his backyard fence from the next neighborhood and took hold with Jonn to be the centerpiece of his musical identity. Jonn started out playing in latin rock and cover bands, but soon turned to the blues, playing with a number of bands around Houston until he met Diunna Greenleaf and became a member of her Blue Mercy band. According to Jonn that was when everything started coming together: "with Diunna I learned how to perform and be the counter punch to her vocals, and along the way learned how to sing with conviction and truth. Together we were unstoppable." They proved it in 2005 winning The Blues Foundation's International Blues Challenge, where Jonn won The Albert King Award for Most Promising Guitarist. Jonn went on to perform with many of his blues heroes, and performed on Pinetop Perkins' Grammy winning record Last Of The Mississippi Bluesmen with Robert Lockwood, Henry Townsend and Honeyboy Edwards. Jonn began playing with Otis Taylor, joining him on the soundtrack for the movie Public Enemy. In 2011 Jonn started working with blues mandolinist Rich DelGrosso, recording the critically acclaimed Time Slips On By, one of Down Beat Magazines Top Albums of 2011. Jonn's next CD, with long-time friend and fellow Albert King Winner Sean Carney, Wild Ride provided a greater showcase for his formidable guitar playing and powerful vocals. Jonn and Sean have toured extensively both nationally and internationally with this critically acclaimed CD. And now, Jonn steps up with his long-awaited personal debut, TENGO BLUES. Jonn wrote all the songs. The natural choice to produce this record was Anson Funderburgh, who also contributed some rhythm guitar and co-wrote two songs. TENGO BLUES features Nick Connoly on keys, Nathan Rowe on bass, Wes Starr on drums, Jonn's uncle Lawrence Del Toroon percussion, and the mighty TEXAS HORNS on seven tracks.


  1. Name
  2. Behind The Curtain
  3. Im Her Man
  4. Love If You Want It
  5. Triple Lindig
  6. The Moment
  7. Cant Run From Love
  8. Get Me Back To Texas
  9. This I Know
  10. Tall Pretty Baby
  11. Here She Comes
  12. Wild Ride
  13. Tell Me Do You Love Me
  14. Tengo Blues
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide