Please Note: Due to a Royal Mail Service Outage affecting all International/EU/USA packages, orders shipping outside the UK are currently heavily delayed.

THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Sport Fishin: The Lure Of The Bait, The Luck Of The Hook

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Sport Fishin: The Lure Of The Bait, The Luck Of The Hook
Sport Fishin: The Lure Of The Bait, The Luck Of The Hook


Twenty-plus years after their last reverb trail dissipated, the remains of Shadowy Men on a Shadowy Planet have reconstituted. The Men were first reanimated in 2012 and have been semi-active since, revealing a stature and distinct influence that has only grown since their original incarnation. Shadowy Men on a Shadowy Planet existed originally between 1984 and 1995, and released three albums and twelve singles, appeared on numerous compilations (including the formative "It Came From Canada" series), toured extensively throughout North America and England, were one of the first Canadian bands to record a Peel Session for BBC DJ John Peel, beat David Foster out of one of the two Juno's they were nominated for, backed B-52's vocalist Fred Schneider on his "Just Fred" album, and scored a couple of feature films and the television series Kids in the Hall. Recent years have seen them named as finalists in Toronto''s daily newspaper, as the Best Toronto Band Ever, and be indicted into the mysterious Independent Music Hall of Fame, for being "true Independent pioneers". After years of being out-of-print and for the very first time as digital downloads Yep Roc Records is releasing the original three Shadowy Men on a Shadowy Planet albums, - Savvy Show Stoppers, Dim The Lights, Chill The Ham, and Sport Fishin' - in deluxe gatefold sleeves, with expanded artwork, liner notes by Bon Von Wheelie, Bry Webb and Scott McCaughey, and contextual essays by band associates and a chihuahua. Translated from Latin and remastered from first generation tapes by Grammy Award winning engineer Peter J. Moore. Founding members Brian Connelly (guitar) and Don Pyle (drums) are joined by extended family member Dallas Good, of The Sadies, playing bass guitar for the foreseeable future, with select tour dates throughout 2016. Shadowy Men bass player Reid Diamond died in 2001 after a battle with cancer, so it is an honour to have long-time friend Dallas playing his parts.


  1. Name
  2. Unwatchable A
  3. Spend A Night, Not A Fortune
  4. Three Piece Suit
  5. Fortune Tellin' Chicken
  6. (Relax) You Will Think You Are A Chicken
  7. Plastics For 500, Bob
  8. That Wuz Ear Me Callin' A Horse
  9. The Singing Cowboy
  10. Farbs
  11. Spy School Graduation Theme
  12. Cheese In The Fridge
  13. Unwatchable B
  14. Mecca
  15. Haig Earl
  16. Algoma Reflections
  17. We're Not A Fucking Surf Band
  18. Peas Porridge Rock
  19. Honey, You're Wasting Ammo
  20. They Don't Call Them Chihuahuas Anymore
  21. Off Our Back Conrad Black
  22. We'll Be Right Back!
  23. What I Like About Grease
  24. Memories Of Gay Paree
  25. Babywetsitself
  26. Lick (feat. Fred Schneider) (Bonus Track)
  27. Sugar In My Hog (feat. Fred Schneider) (Bonus Track)
  28. The Last Of My Hiccups (Bonus Track)
  29. The Jehrney (Bonus Track)
  30. Song Of The Lobster (Bonus Track)
  31. Underground Sounds (Bonus Track)
  32. 16 Encores (Bonus Track)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite