THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Close To Me

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Close To Me
Close To Me


Eric Devries wrote his first song in 1976, just before Punk Rock hit the Netherlands, and started his stage career soon after. And he's been writing and performing ever since. In 1992, together with his band the Big Easy, Eric took second place in the national "Grote Prijs van Nederland" music contest. His debut solo CD, 'Little of a Romeo', was released in 2004 to rave reviews. In the following years, Eric crossed the big pond three times to tour in the United States and recorded a number of songs for his second solo album, 'Sweet Oblivion', in a studio in Tulsa, Oklahoma. It's been seven years since 'Sweet Oblivion' was released, but in May 2014 Eric Devries' third album 'Close to Home' will be hitting the shelves. As the title, 'Close to Home', suggests, this album is his most biographical so far. Love and goodbyes, life and death, regrets and starting over set against a background of different places and spaces. Devries sings about his hometown Amsterdam in one song, and takes the listener on a road trip through places like Tulsa, Birmingham and even Jerusalem in another. The themes that Devries uses to paint a picture in song at times up close and personal, and others tongue in cheek are a wry and rocking celebration of life with all its ups and downs. The 70's singer-songwriter storytelling tradition but with a modern twist.


  1. Name
  2. Anything But What I Am
  3. Close To Home
  4. Different Stations
  5. In This Country
  6. Memories Of You
  7. November In The Rain
  8. Easy To Love
  9. Nothing Rhymed
  10. One More Try
  11. Moment To Cherish
  12. She Never Said As Much
  13. Songwriter Blues
  14. Time Weighs Heavy
  15. Apology Blues
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite