THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

New Release

Gladys Knight & The Pips (LP)

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:
Gladys Knight & The Pips (LP)
Gladys Knight & The Pips (LP)


Charly Records presents GLADYS KNIGHT & THE PIPS This highly collectable 1965 original album portrays Gladys Knight & The Pips at their very best, just one year before signing to the mighty Motown Records. The recordings that Gladys Knight and the Pips made for Larry Maxwell's Maxx label were some of the least successful - sales wise - with just one Top 10 R&B hit over a two-year period. BUT, they were the important first steps in the second phase of their career that took them to Motown and confirmed them as international superstars. Nearly sixty years later these wonderful recordings form an astounding collection of classic soul music, that showcases Gladys, The Pips and world class arranger Van McCoy, working at the very top of their game. Despite disapointing sales in 1965, time has testified that these songs are some of the very best, in a career that produced some of the greatest soul music ever laid to tape. This fabulous first ever reissue of this most sought after album completes our Gladys Knight & The Pips legacy collection and is also available as an expanded double-CD special edition. Curated and annotated by Dean Rudland, Acid Jazz . First ever reissue of this sought-after album from 1965 . Includes the #6 Billboard R&B Hit "Giving Up" and the Northern Soul classic "Stop & Get A Hold Of Myself"


  1. Name
  2. Giving Up
  3. Either Way I Lose
  4. Another Love
  5. Lovers Always Forgive
  6. Daybreak
  7. If Ever I Should Fall In Love
  8. Tell You're Mine
  9. Why Don't You Love Me
  10. Maybe Maybe Baby
  11. Who Knows
  12. Go Away Stay Away
  13. Stop & Get A Hold Of Myself
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite