THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Johann Sebastian Bach: Organ Works On Strings

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Johann Sebastian Bach: Organ Works On Strings
Johann Sebastian Bach: Organ Works On Strings


Handel did it, as did Mozart, Berlioz, even Busoni, as well as most composers in music history and even Johann Sebastian Bach: they all parodied the works of their ancestors and contemporaries. Moreover, Bach was a great master in using his own works for new purposes. For this CD programme, the Capricornus Consort Basel has adapted organ works by Johann Sebastian Bach for string ensemble, which has a special appeal: on the one hand, the organ sound is transformed into an (extremely homogeneous) string sound. In addition, the Capricornus Consort creates completely new listening impressions of the well-known organ works through its differentiated, historically informed way of playing. Not only a pleasure for organ lovers!


  1. Name
  2. Fantasia Und Fuga G-Moll BWV 542
  3. Choralbearbeitung »O Mensch, Bewein Dein Sünde Groß« BWV 622
  4. Fantasia 'Piece Dorgue' G-Dur BWV 572
  5. Praludium Es-Dur BWV 552
  6. Triosonate Nr. 6 G-Dur BWV 530
  7. Choralbearbeitung 'Liebster Jesu, Wir Sind Hier' BWV 731
  8. Fantasia C-Moll BWV 562
  9. Triosonate Nr. 3 D-Moll BWV 527
  10. Choralbearbeitung 'Nun Komm, Der Heiden Heiland' BWV 659
  11. Praludium Und Fuga D-Moll BWV 539
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite