THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CDs | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

American Babylon (25th Anniversary Edition 2CD)

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
American Babylon (25th Anniversary Edition 2CD)
American Babylon (25th Anniversary Edition 2CD)


25TH DELUXE ANNIVERSARY EDITION OF AMERICAN BABYLONFEATURING LIVE TRACKS WITH BRUCE SPRINGSTEENGrushecky and his band had been a club fixture in the Northeast for nearly 25 years when they released American Babylon in 1995. The Pittsburgh band had proven themselves to be the consummate bar band with occasional flirtations with national success. American Babylon found them teaming up with Bruce Springsteen, who handles production, plays on several tracks, and wrote two songs for the album. The title track is an uptempo rocker detailing the disintegration of societal mores. There are plenty of songs outlining love gone wrong and the struggles of common folk, all delivered in Grushecky's warm, well-worn voice over a barroom mixture of blues-based traditional rock. However, delivered with such earnestness and spirit makes American Babylon a worthy contender and an enjoyable listen for fans of Mellencamp, Seger, and, especially, Springsteen. The 25th anniversary deluxe reissue edition will include LIVE tracks from the Houserockers' legendary October Assault Tour recorded at an enthusiastic hometown show that same year."American Babylon is an impassioned, sharply-etched portrait of working-stiff triumphs and travails."-Rick Reger, Chicago Tribune"As the leader of the Pittsburgh-based Iron City Houserockers, Joe Grushecky hammered out four heartland rock albums in the late 70s and early 1980s. These won over more critics than fans, so he became a special education teacher to support his family. Still, he maintained a close relationship with Bruce Springsteen, and in 1995, they teamed up for American Babylon. The two remain tight and play together at least once a year, but this album remains their greatest joint accomplishment."-Rolling Stone"At a time when rock had splintered into grunge, industrial, alternative, and more, Joe Grushecky planted a defiant flag in the soul of rock and roll with American Babylon--one of the very best and undeservedlyoverlooked albums of the 1990s, and one that sounds just as fr


  1. Name
  2. Dark and Bloody Ground
  3. Chain Smokin'
  4. Never Be Enough Time
  5. American Babylon
  6. Labor of Love
  7. What Did You Do In The War
  8. Homestead
  9. Comin' Down Maria
  10. Talk Show
  11. No Strings Attached
  12. Billy's Waltz
  13. Only Lovers Left Alive
  14. Chain Smokin' (DEMO)
  15. Never Be Enough Time (DEMO)
  16. Only Lovers Left Alive (DEMO)
  17. No Strings Attached
  18. Only Lovers Left Alive
  19. Bruce Springsteen Intro
  20. What Did You Do In The War (w/ Bruce Springsteen)
  21. Chain Smokin' (w/ Bruce Springsteen)
  22. Labor Of Love (w/ Bruce Springsteen)
  23. Never Be Enough Time (w/ Bruce Springsteen)
  24. Dark & Bloody Ground (w/ Bruce Springsteen)
  25. Pumping Iron (w/ Bruce Springsteen)
  26. Homestead (w/ Bruce Springsteen)
  27. American Babylon (w/ Bruce Springsteen)
  28. Light Of Day (w/ Bruce Springsteen)
  29. Down the Road Apiece (w/ Bruce Springsteen)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite