THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Live at the Nottingham Jazz Festival 1972

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)
Catalog Number:
Live at the Nottingham Jazz Festival 1972
Live at the Nottingham Jazz Festival 1972


This previously unreleased recording from the Humphrey Lyttelton archives features Lyttelton and his band with guests at the Albany Hotel in Nottingham in 1972.

The lineup features current and past members of the band with the incomparable Humph on trumpet and clarinet, Bruce Turner, Kathy Stobart and Tony Coe on saxophones, John Picard on trombone and the rhythm section of Eddie Harvey on piano, bassist Dave Green and drummer Tony Mann. They perform a selection of classic jazz standards, many written by or associated with Duke Ellington as well as one original, the amusingly titled "Concerto for Dave Green on trumpet and Humphrey Lyttelton on Bass".

Humph's introductions to the various pieces are always hilarious and make unique use of English as it should be spoken! And the 8-page booklet contains his caricatures of the musicians alongside rare photos from the archives.

Personnel: Humphrey Lyttelton (trumpet and clarinet), Bruce Turner (alto saxophone and clarinet), Kathy Stobart (tenor and baritone saxophones), Tony Coe (tenor saxophone), John Picard (trombone), Eddie Harvey (piano), Dave Green (bass), Tony Mann (drums)


  1. Name
  2. I Double Dare You
  3. Intro 1
  4. Talk Of The Town
  5. Doggin' Around
  6. Intro 2
  7. They Can't Take That Away From Me
  8. Intro 3
  9. Concerto for Dave Green on Trumpet and Humphrey Lyttelton On Bass
  10. Intro 4
  11. Rifftide
  12. Intro 5
  13. Tenderly
  14. Intro 6
  15. Hanid
  16. Intro 7
  17. The Hucklebuck
  18. Slippery Horn
  19. Intro 1
  20. Creole Love Call
  21. Intro 2
  22. Sonny Boy
  23. Intro 3
  24. Crazy She Calls Me
  25. Things Ain't What They Used To Be
  26. Sign Off - The Song is Ended / Goodnight Sweetheart
  27. Indiana
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock