THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Scratch Gravel Road

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Scratch Gravel Road
Scratch Gravel Road


Special Consensus has reached a highpoint in its 35 year career with the release of 'Scratch Gravel Road'. Bandleader/banjoist Greg Cahill's current line-up: Rick Faris (mandolin and vocals), David Thomas (bass and vocals) and newest member Dustin Benson (guitar and vocals) is one of the most exciting in bluegrass and, together with producer Alison Brown, they have recorded a 12 song set that is certain to be one of the most airplay friendly bluegrass releases of 2012. Stand-out tracks include "Monroe" (featuring guest vocals from former members Josh Williams and Chris Jones), a first recording of the Harley Allen original "Good Problem to Have" and a dynamic reworking of the Golden Gate Quartet's classic gospel song "On My Way To The Kingdom Land." Special Consensus was founded in 1975 by banjoist Greg Cahill as a showcase for his urban traditionalist take on bluegrass which encompasses elements of Chicago blues, swing, newgrass, and country music. Over the intervening 35 years, the group has seen a myriad of personnel changes and has been the breeding ground for some of the best young stars in bluegrass today; Josh Williams, Chris Jones and Robbie Fulks are just a few names in a long list of former members who have gone on to build solo careers. Special Consensus maintains a busy year round touring schedule, reaching an eclectic demographic through appearances at festivals, listening rooms, bluegrass in the schools programs and symphony appearances.


  1. Name
  2. Old New Straitsville Moonshine Run
  3. Monroe
  4. Sea of Heartbreak
  5. A Good Problem to Have
  6. On My Way to the Kingdom Land
  7. Mollie & Julie's Reel
  8. Shoulda Took a Train
  9. My Memories of You
  10. Jacklene
  11. Trouble Let Me Be
  12. Sunday Morning Without You
  13. Scratch Gravel Road
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock