THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

The Country Blues

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
The Country Blues
The Country Blues


"In the ever changing world of country music, it's comforting to know that the real deal still exists." - Marty Stuart "I'm sure I don't make a true 'critic' since I'm already such a fan, but the new album from Rob Ickes and Trey Hensley is a wonderful piece of work. And my songwriting side is truly overwhelmed. Thank you, thank you, thank you". - Merle Haggard. "The Trey Hensley/Rob Ickes collaborationfeatures both electrified honky tonk and Doc Watson-style acoustic bluegrass boogie with some killer flatpicking. And above all that enthralling, nuanced singing". - Craig Havighurst, Music City Roots The follow-up album to the 2015 Grammy nominated Before The Sun Goes Down. Featuring special guests Ron Block, Vince Gill, Aubrey Haynie, Carl Jackson, Shawn Lane, Andy Leftwich, Robinella, John Randall Stewart, along with John Alvey and Mike Bub. Overview Some things you know are just meant to be, but it was still welcome news for Rob Ickes & Trey Hensley when their debut duo album, Before The Sun Goes Down, earned a nomination for the Best Bluegrass Album GRAMMY. And with the release of their new project, The Country Blues on July 8th, the pair build on the first one's strengths to take their unique musical conversation to an even higher level. Fun pervades the 11 tracks, even when the subject matter's as mournful as the post-romance desolation of Hank Williams' classic "May You Never Be Alone." It continues through the powerful Sonny Boy Williamson blues shouter, "One Way Out," the mixed regret and determination of Merle Haggard's "Won't Give Up My Train," into the grassy dexterity of their original, "Everywhere I Go." They mix it up with insouciant funk of "Never Can Pray Enough," imported from the Wood Brothers and the southern rock of Charlie Daniels on "Willie Jones?" Then there's the jazzy tour de force instrumental, "Biscuits And Gravy," written by Ickes as a kind of tribute to pedal steel master Buddy Emmons and even a nod to the Grateful Dead in "Friend Of The Devil," a dazzling staple of the duo's live shows. That organic approach served well as recording sessions with regulars Mike Bub (bass) and John Alvey (drums) and a select handful of instrumental and vocal guests that included the likes of Ron Block, Vince Gill, Aubrey Haynie, Carl Jackson, Shawn Lane, Andy Leftwich, Robinella and John Randall Stewart.


  1. Name
  2. Ballad Of A Well Known Gun
  3. Everywhere I Go Is A Long Way From Home
  4. Thats What Leavings For
  5. Pray Enough
  6. Leave My Woman Alone
  7. I Wont Give Up My Train
  8. Biscuits And Gravy
  9. Friend Of The Devil
  10. May You Never Be Alone
  11. Willie Jones
  12. One Way Out
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock