THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

To Rise You Gotta Fall

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Gate Fold Vinyl
Catalog Number:
To Rise You Gotta Fall
To Rise You Gotta Fall


After the last six years spent with the Gramblers, recent high-profile collaborations (Phil Lesh, Infamous StringDusters, Ryan Adams), and a split from her husband and musical mentor, vocalist and songwriter Nicki Bluhm is stepping out on her own with her new album, 'To Rise You Gotta Fall'.

The songs were written over a two-year period in Bluhms life and chronicle her fundamental life changes, which found the West Coast native living in Nashville, TN. These songs are the conversations I never got to have, the words I never had the chance to say, and the catharsis I wouldnt have survived without, she says. Recorded in Memphis, TN at legendary Sam Phillips Recording, Bluhm brought in producer Matt Ross-Spang (Margo Price, Jason Isbell), for these live band, analog sessions. The studio band includes Will Sexton (guitar), Ross-Spang (guitars), Ken Coomer (drums and percussion), Al Gamble (Hammond B3), Rick Steff (piano), Dave Smith (bass), with Sam Shoup (string arrangements) and various special guests. 'To Rise You Gotta Fall' tells the story of a woman searching for light among darkness and reveals her emergence as a powerful songwriter and vocalist of great depth and immediacy.


  1. Name
  2. How Do I Love You
  3. Battlechain Rose
  4. To Rise You Gotta Fall
  5. Staring At The Sun
  6. Something Really Mean
  7. I Hate You
  8. Can't Fool The Fool
  9. Things I've Done
  10. You Stopped Loving Me
  11. It's OK Not To Be OK
  12. Last To Know
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock