THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

New Release

Gottfried August Homilius: Works For Oboe & Organ

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Gottfried August Homilius: Works For Oboe & Organ
Gottfried August Homilius: Works For Oboe & Organ


Born in Rosenthal, Gottfried August Homilius (1714-1785) was organist at Dresden's Frauenkirche from 1742 onwards, and since 1755 he had been "Kreuzkantor" and music director at the three main churches in Dresden. Among the composer's most fascinating works are certainly his chorale preludes for organ with an obbligato melody instrument, primarily the oboe. This extraordinary practice allowed Homilius to perform the chorale theme more full-voiced and to process the musical material as artistically as he wished, without endangering the clear presence of the chorale melody, which is absolutely necessary for liturgical use, and which here is effectively taken over by the oboe.


  1. Name
  2. Sonata A Oboe Solo Col Basso Howv Xi.1
  3. O Gott, Du Frommer Gott
  4. Mein Gott, Das Herze Bring Ich Dir
  5. Wer Gott Vertraut
  6. Herr Christ, Der Einge Gottes Sohn
  7. Weg, Mein Herz, Mit Den Gedanken
  8. Es Ist Das Heil Uns Kommen Her
  9. Du, O Schönes Weltgebäude
  10. Von Gott Will Ich Nicht Lassen
  11. Mit Fried Und Freud Ich Fahr Dahin
  12. Herr Jesu Christ, Du Höchstes Gut
  13. Nun Freut Euch, Liebe Christen Gemein
  14. Christ Lag In Todes Banden
  15. Durch Adams Fall Ist Ganz Verderbt
  16. Nun Komm, Der Heiden Heiland
  17. Was Mein Gott Will, Das Gescheh Allzeit
  18. Nun Komm, Der Heiden Heiland
  19. Komm, Heiliger Geist
  20. Gelobet Seist Du, Jesu Christ
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock