THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Ella, Oscar And Me

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Ella, Oscar And Me
Ella, Oscar And Me


Joni's embraces the lyrics and the sometimes-complex musical phrases effortlessly but leaves the listener in no doubt of her talent and love of this repertoire. Joni was brought up on the music of Ella Fitzgerald and so it was no surprise when she created a show to celebrate this fantastic music. The 'Celebrate the music of Ella and Oscar UK Tour' went on the road in April 2010 and she recorded ten of the show's songs. 'Ella, Oscar and Me' is Joni's second album and the Euan Stevenson Trio again joins her and they capture the true spirit of each song. Joni has technique, dynamics, phrasing and range in abundance and that all-important ability to set a course for the heart. That's what great music and performance is about, touching the heart, allowing the listener to experience the common-personal emotions: love and longing, joy and sorrow, pain and healing. 'Musicality' is hard to define and even harder to acquire, but from the first track that's the word that comes to mind. And not least because of the choice of a group of musical talents that have the range and the chops to really drive this well away from the clichés and affectations of the 'jazz and jewellery' stylists. There's an emotional maturity about Joni's performances, much more than just a jazz calling card, here is a view from the plateau, and what a view!


  1. Name
  2. This can't be love
  3. They can't take that away
  4. Georgia
  5. With a song in my heart
  6. Time and again
  7. Lady is a tramp
  8. My funny Valentine
  9. I ain't got nothin' but the blues
  10. Daisy Chain
  11. Everytime we say goodbye
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite